Skip to main content

African American Studies: Databases A - Z

Key resources and assistance for research in African American Studies.

DATABASES

 

Biographical Databases

African American Biographical Database
Includes information on African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers and others.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to biographies in over 150 reference works including biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, literary criticism and other indexes to literature. 

Biography In Context
Biography in Context provides over 600,000 biographical entries on more than 528,000 individuals.

Biography Index Past and Present
Indexes books and periodical articles from 1946 to the present.  Historic entries reflect the perspective of the time when they were written. 

Biography Reference Bank
Includes biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries for over 500,000 people.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Search Many Databases At Once

OneSearch

βETA

 

  About | Feedback | Search Tips | Advanced Search

Databases for Research in African American Studies, A - Z

Academic Search Premier
Indexes more than 4,600 magazines, newspapers and journals in the social sciences, humanities and hard sciences and provides for 80% of the articles.   ASP is a good database to search if your topic is interdisciplinary.

African American Biographical Database
Includes information on African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers and others.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Includes the Freedom's Journal, The Coloured American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Search over 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

African-American Poetry
Covers the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

AFRO Black History Archives (1902 - 2003)

America, History and Life
AHL is the definitive index database to use when exploring the history and culture of the United States and Canada.   AHL covers the time period of prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, books, newspapers and magazines, many published as earl as 1910.

Black Studies Center  

Chicago Defender (1910-1975)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. 

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition
Contains scanned images of over 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials, from 1700s to the 1800s, including works by Phillis Wheatley and Olaudah Equiano.   Includes documents on abolitionism, slave records and plantations, and other primary documents on African Americans and blacks.

Early American Newspapers, Series III:  1829-1922
Includes more than 125 significant 19th and early 20th-century newspapers, focusing on the period between 1861 and 1920 in which the number and size of newspapers continued to grow rapidly. This Series provides in-depth mainstream coverage of the Civil War, Reconstruction, Gilded Age, Progressive Era and beyond.

Ethnic NewsWatch
A unique full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, from 1959 to present.  Ethnicities represented include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native

Fifth Avenue African American (Alachua County) Oral History Collection

Indianapolis Recorder, 1897 to 2005

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text
Indexes more than 425 international music periodicals, and has full text for around 140 journals.  Subject coverage includes, classical music and opera, jazz and blues, rock, soul and hip-hop, folk music, music business, sound recording, ethnomusicology, music education and therapy and instruments.

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text
Indexes more than 260 international periodicals and has full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals.  Covers dance, theater, film, opera, radio, television, storytelling, video and performance art.

JSTOR

‚ÄčMaking of America Books
Digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

MLA International Bibliography
Dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations to  journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the fields of literature, literary theory, linguistics and folklore.

National Newspapers Core (1985 to present)
Includes the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.

Negro World
Marcus Garvey's weekly newspaper, published by the Universal Negro Improvement Association and African Communities League, 1917-1933.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
This collection of primary sources explores history through the eyes of women from colonial times to the present, providing a unique feminine perspective. 

OneSearch
OneSearch searches the majority of the resources offered by the UF Libraries, including the catalog, subscription databases and the University of Florida Digital Collections.  Most of the information in the databases on this list are searchable through OneSearch.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Search broad range of authoratative reference works by subject, era to view biographies, subject entries, primary sources, images, maps, and statistics.  OAASC is a good place to begin research on an unfamiliar topic or for a broad overview of an event or issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

PsycInfo
Indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Race Relations Abstracts
A selective index to important sources in the areas of ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and related areas.

Statista
Comprehensive statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources into a single searchable interface. Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, social issues, politics, sports and a wide variety of other areas.

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The collection spans the presidential administrations of  Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Web of Knowledge
Covers all areas of study, though covers sciences and social sciences much better than the humanities. Excellent for citation searching (looking for articles that cite an article that you already know about).

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.