Guides @ UF: Agricultural & Biological Engineering: Articles

Location of ABE Journals

Agricultural & Biological Engineering journals are on the 3rd Floor in the Marston Science Library. Use the below chart to determine the relevant call number for your area. Otherwise, search the library catalog by subject or title.

Call #	Subject
GB 651-2998	Hydrology
HD 1401-2210	Agriculture & Resource Economics
S 1-589	Agriculture
S 590-670	Soil Science
S 671-790	Agricultural Engineering
S 900-954	Conservation of Natural Resources
SB	Plants
SD	Forestry
SF	Animal Science
SH	Aquaculture, Fisheries
SK	Hunting, wildlife management
TS 195-198.8	Packaging

Find It @ UF in Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar and want to know what UF has it? Follow these steps:

Select Library Links from Google Scholars Settings page
Search for University of Florida
Select University of Florida - Find it @ UF

Finding Scholarly Articles

Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window
Search journal articles, conference proceedings, standards, and other publications from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.
Compendex (in Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
This engineering literature database includes peer reviewed and indexed publications from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. This link will allow you to search the Inspec database as well.
Dimensions Analytics This link opens in a new window
ENTER YOUR UFL EMAIL and then LOG IN WITH YOUR GATORLINK. Dimensions Analytics is a comprehensive scholarly database where you can search publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, and policy documents. Courtesy of UF Research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with a powerful search interface. In addition to records of over 84 million scholarly publications, it also includes author and institutional profiles.

Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

INSPEC (in Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, physics, control engineering, computers, and manufacturing and production engineering.Records for articles back to the 1890s.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering and biotechnology. Many citations include abstracts.

CAB Abstracts
Covers agriculture, forestry, human health, management of natural resources, and sustainable development, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. International in scope.

TOXLINE (on ProQuest platform) This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Zoological Record
Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy and zoogeography.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database covers many topics from all academic areas.

Finding Preprint Articles

Preprints can provide some of the latest information on a topic. However, they are preliminary reports of work that have not yet been peer reviewed.

Preprint Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Use this Web of Science database to discover preprints for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities.

arXiv
Includes open access e-prints on physics, math, computer science, and more.
bioRxiv
Archive for preprints in the life sciences.
engrXiv
Open archive of engineering preprints. Covers most areas of engineering.

Finding Trade Journal Articles

Locating these types of articles can be tricky, but here are some engineering-related databases that can be helpful:

Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Search your topic and then select Trade Journal from the Source Type filter options.

Technology Collection's List of Trade Journals

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Conduct your search for your topic and filter your results to Trade Journal using the Source Type filter.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
You have the ability to filter your search to magazine articles (which are often from trade publications).

Is this journal peer-reviewed? Is this a trade magazine?

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory can help you answer these questions. Simply search the journal title to determine if it is peer reviewed/refereed (look for the tiny referee shirt). Ulrich's will also tell you if the title is a trade magazine or journal.