Skip to main content

African Studies: Encyclopedias & guides

A guide to UF Libraries' research and teaching resources in African Studies. Feel free to let us know what would be useful to have included.

Encyclopedias and guides to African Studies

Note that the DT section in Reference has general sources for African Studies (including encyclopedias, various guides, as well as historical dictionaries, telephone books, etc.), while the Z3500 section exclusively contains bibliographies such as the catalogs of well known collections. The DT section begins with general resources, followed by regional and country specific materials.

Bibliographies and guides to library resources for African Studies

Serials (may include topical or disciplinary focused literature review essays, annotated bibliographies, etc.)

Africana Journal. [New York, Africana Pub. Co.] 1974-
Ref Z3503.A37

African Research and Documentation. [Birmingham] : African Studies Association of the UK, 1973-
Ref DT19.8.A35 and online at: Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition

Monographs (some with regular updates, check catalog for more recent editions)

Balay, Robert (ed). Guide to Reference Books. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996. Chapter on Africa by Phyllis Bischof, Alfred Kagan and Regina Kammer.
Ref Z1035.1 .G89 1996 (located in Ready reference collection)

Valade, Roger M. and Denise Kasinec. 1996. The Schomburg Center guide to black literature: from the eighteenth century to the present. Detroit: Gale Research.
Ref Z1039.B56V36 1995

Kagan, Alfred. Reference guide to Africa: A bibliography of sources. 2d ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005. 
Ref Z3501 .K15 2005

McIlwaine, John. Africa: A guide to reference material. 2d ed. London: Hans Zell, 2007
Ref Z3501 .M3 2007

Scheven, Yvette. Bibliographies for African studies 1970-1986. London: Hans Zell, 1988. 
Ref DT351 .S331 1988

Scheven, Yvette (ed.). Bibliographies for African studies, 1987-1993. Compiled by Phyllis Bischof ... [et al.]. New Jersey : Hans Zell Publishers, 1994.
Ref Z3501 .A1 S345 1994

Zell, Hans. African Studies Companion: A guide to Inforation Sources. 4th ed. Lochcarron, Scotland: Hans Zell Publishers 2006.
Ref DT19.8 Z45 1997 and online

Encyclopedias

Africa South of the Sahara. London: Europa Pub. 1971- (print to 2010; earlier editions in main stacks). 
Ref DT351 .A37 and online

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara. 4 vols. John Middleton, ed. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1997.
Ref DT351 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of African history. 3. vols. Kevin Shillington, ed. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.
Ref. DT20 .E53 2004

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African American experience. 2d ed. 5 vols. Kwame Appiah and Henry Gates, eds. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005
Ref DT14 .A37435 2005

Country Surveys

Nigeria: Giant in the tropics. 2 vols. Lagos, Nigeria: Gabumo Pub. Co., 1993.
Ref DT515.8 .N531 1993

South African survey. Johannesburg: the Institute, 1996- Ref DT763 .R33

Historical Dictionary series published by Scarecrow press. Most include a good chronology and an extensive bibliography.

World Bibliographical Series published by Clio Press (Oxford). Over 180 volumes spanning countries and world regions (e.g. Atlantic Ocean; Indian Ocean), etc. Topical arrangement with brief annotations to provide a few good starting points for your research.

Mitchell, B. R. 2007. International historical statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan. Ref HA4675.M552 2007

See also the Clio Press companion series: International Organizations Series (e.g. United Nations System; World Bank and International Monetary Fund; European Communities; Arab Regional Organizations; The Commonwealth; The Organization of African Unity).

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.