Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Home

This will feature an array of research tools in Classics to support primarily the research of students and faculty at the University of Florida.

Our Newest Books!

Livy 21-25Companion to Latin LiteratureHigh command in the Roman Republic: The Principle of the...Thucydides and the Idea of HistorySex and Sexuality in Classical AthensSport, Democracy, and War in Classical AthensModern Greece: from the War of Independence to the present

New Classics Books

Here are new titles listed in the online catalog on Classical Philology, the Greek and Roman Languages, Greek and Roman Literature, and Greek and Roman History.

Loading

Introduction to the Classics Collection

 I. Program Information

The Classics Department at the University of Florida offers undergraduate and graduate instruction in virtually all aspects of Greek and Roman civilization, including Greek and Latin languages and literatures, Art and Archaeology, History, Mythology, Religion, Linguistics, Literary Genres, Medicine, and Greek and Roman society. The faculty’s research interests include Roman Historiography, Social History, Classical Art and Archaeology, Ancient Cities, Mythology, Oral Tradition, Linguistics, the Ancient novel, Roman rhetoric, Epigraphy, Ancient Religion, and Epic and Lyric Poetry. In addition to classical studies, the department houses a Center for Modern Greek studies. It also partners with other departments in the areas of Classical Art, Ancient Law, Ancient Philosophy, Ancient History, Political History, and Ancient Religion. 

The Ph.D program in Classical Studies prepares graduate students for careers in high school teaching, community college teaching or careers in Advanced Placement or International Baccalaureate programs as well as preparation for careers in college and university teaching: http://www.classics.ufl.edu/graduate/graduatephd.html

For more information about UF’s Classics Department, see http://web.classics.ufl.edu.

II. Collection Description

The collection of Classics materials at the University of Florida was greatly enhanced in 1987 by the purchase of Walter Marg’s private collection of 4,100 books. I n 1989 a large collection of numismatic materials was added as well. In 1990 the library hired a Classics subject specialist to maintain the Classics collections; these have been expanding ever since.

The areas of particular strength in the collection are Greek and Latin literature, Greek and Roman Philosophy, Greek and Roman Religion, and Greek and Roman Art and Architecture. The collection houses the primary texts in such series as Oxford, Teubner, Belles Lettres (Budé), and the Loeb Classical Library. The library’s collection of primary texts comprises not only the major writings of most of the classical authors, but also the fragments of the ancient historians, dramatists, and poets, and a large collection of Greek and Latin inscriptions including a complete set of the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum and of the Corpus Inscriptionum Graecarum. The library owns the commentaries and ancient scholia on most classical authors.

The library’s Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Department houses a number of Classics bibliographic and full-text CD-ROM products. These include Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, PHI CD ROM #5.3, PHI Greek documentary texts, CEDEDOC (for Patristic studies—in addition, UF Libraries subscribes to a Web version of the Patrologia Latina Database), Dyabola, the Database of Classical Bibliography, Gnomon bibliographische Datenbank, Epigraph: a database of Roman inscriptions, and Vergil reference CD-ROM. As further products become available, this collection will continue to expand. 

The main collection of UF’s Classics material is in the Humanities and Social Sciences Library (i.e. Library West). The Special Collections Department also houses a substantial collection of old editions and rare classical texts. In addition, the main collection is supplemented by materials in the Architecture and Fine Arts Library, Marston Science Library, the Music and Education libraries, the Legal Information Center, and the Health Science Library.

III. Guidelines for Collection Development

This collection is first and foremost built around the research needs of faculty and students of the UF Classics Department. Requests for materials are welcome and encouraged, and should be sent to the Classics Librarian Megan Daly. Other guidelines for collection development are the following:

A. Chronological - The Bronze Age up to the Byzantine period.

B. Formats - Books, journals, CD-ROMS, microfiche.

C. Geographical - The focus is on the ancient Mediterranean and some Near Eastern materials.

D. Languages - Primary source materials in Greek and Latin; secondary materials in a number of languages, especially English, German, French, and Italian.

E. Publication Dates - Emphasis on current materials. Some retrospective purchasing, especially the replacement of missing and damaged books.

Helpful Links

   

Access the Digital Loeb Classical Library Here!

RefWorks Set-up

RefWorks Login

ILLiad

Off-Campus Access

Classics Librarian

Megan M. Daly
Contact:
556 Library West
352-273-2709

Call Numbers for Classics

Call nos

Subjects

B 108-708 Ancient Philosophy
CC 135-137 Ancient Archaeology
CJ 201-1397 Ancient Numismatics
CN 120-740 Ancient inscriptions
DE1-100 History of the Mediterranean Region. The Greco-Roman World
DF 10-289 Ancient Greece
DG 11-365 Ancient Italy. Rome to 476
PA1-199 Classical philology
PA 201-899 Greek philology and language
PA 1000-1179 Medieval and modern Greek language
PA 2001-2915 Latin philology and language
PA 3000-3049 Classical literature
PA 3050- 4505 Greek literature
PA 3051-3285 Literary history
PA 3520-3564 Criticism, interpretation, etc.
PA 3601-3681 Translations
PA 3818-4505 Individual authors
PA 5000-5660 Byzantine and modern Greek literature
PA 6000-6971 Roman literature
PA 6001-6097 Literary history
PA 6100-6140 Collections
PA 6141-6144 Criticism, interpretation, etc.
PA 6155-6191 Translations
PA 6202-6971 Individual authors
PA 8001-8595 Medieval and modern Latin literature
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.