Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Medieval Latin

This will feature an array of research tools in Classics to support primarily the research of students and faculty at the University of Florida.

Mantello and Rigg

Harrington

Clemens and Graham

Medieval Latin Resources

This page is in the process of being built! Please send an e-mail to Megan at mmdaly@ufl.edu if you would like to suggest a resource for this page!

Medieval Latin

Reference Materials (3rd floor of Library West and online):

The Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources (DMLBS), by R. E. Latham, online, or in print: PA2891.L28 1975

Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatis, Du Cange, PA2889.D8 193, and online

A glossary of later Latin to 600 A.D., by Alexander Souter: PA2308.S6

Introduction to medieval Latin studies : a syllabus and bibliographical guide, by Martin R.P. McGuire and Hermigild Dressler: PA2816.M24 1977

Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus, online, by Niermeyer and van de Kieft: PA2893.N54 2002

Revised medieval Latin word-list from British and Irish sources, by R. E. Latham: PA2891.L3

 

Latin Texts:

Corpus Christianorum

Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum = CSEL

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum

Library of Latin Texts, Series A and B

Monumenta Germaniae Historica

 

Books in the general collection of Library West (1st and 2nd floor):

Documents in Medieval Latin, by John Thorley: PA2825.T48 1998

Handbook of Christian Latin: Style, Morphology, and Syntax, by Albert Blaise: PA2306.B413 1994

Introduction to manuscript studies, by Raymond Clemens and Timothy Graham: Z105.C58 2007

Introduction to medieval Latin, by Karl Strecker: PA2816.S72

Medieval Latin, edited by K.P. Harrington ; revised by Joseph Pucci: PA2825.M43 1997

Medieval Latin : an introduction and bibliographical guide, edited by F.A.C. Mantello and A.G. Rigg: PA2802.M43 1996; also in E-book

Medieval Latin Lyric, by Penelope Rainey: PA8122.R34 1993

Medieval Latin Palaeography, by Leonard E. Boyle: Z106.B68 1984

Medieval mosaic : a book of medieval Latin readings, by A. W. Godfrey: PA2825.G64 2016

Medieval semantics : selected studies on medieval logic and grammar, edited by Sten Ebbesen: B840.P561 1984

Reading Medieval Latin, by Keith Sidwell: PA2825.S53 1995

Writing matters : presenting and perceiving monumental inscriptions in antiquity and the Middle Ages, edited by Irene Berti, Katharina Bolle, Fanny Opdenhoff and Fabian Stroth: CN55.W75 2017

 

Books to be requested from storage (usually takes a day, sometimes less, to get):

Manuel pratique de latin médiéval, by Dag Norberg: Request via UBorrow -- 478.644N822m

Medieval Latin word-list : from British and Irish sources, prepared by J.H. Baxter and Charles Johnson ; with the assistance of Phyllis Abrahams: Request via UBorrow -- 479.32B355m

 

E-Books:

Einleitung in die lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters, by Ludwig Traube: Hathi Trust

Medieval Latin : an introduction and bibliographical guide, edited by F.A.C. Mantello and A.G. Rigg: E-book

 

Journals/Databases:

International medieval bibliography: CB351.I61, or online

Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance: online

 

Websites:

Archivio della Latinità Italiana del Medioevo

A bibliography through ARC Humanities

Resources through UBC's Medieval Studies program

 

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.