Skip to main content

European Union: EU Law Resources

Subject Guide for European Union

EU Notes

EU in Brief
Includes brief history, flag, anthem, descriptions of the major organizations and processes of EU and links to further readings. (Washington Delegation)

Institutions
Describes the EU institutions and links to their homepages (Europa)

Agencies
Links to EU-related agency homepages (Europa)

Policies
Extensive list of EU policies, from agriculture to transport. Each entry includes an overview, EU treaty basis, legislation in force and under consideration, national implementation, and other sources of information. (Europa)

Activities
This site gives a summary of the main legislative measures and procedures for each of the activities of the European Union. (Europa- ScadPlus)
These links include introduction, specific areas of activities and programs within the larger area, and greater coverage of the social aspects.
Expanded listing of areas of EU activities and interests

Current Events
Short explanations of current hot topics, and links to the major web sites covering these areas. (Europa)

Legal Resources

CELEX

Resource limited to materials prior to 31 December 2004. Access limited to UF researchers

CVRIA

Includes full text case law and summaries, research and documentation tools, and links to cases before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance.

EUR-Lex, the Portal to European Law

The new mega gateway to EU legal resources online. Links to the Official Journal, treaties, legislation in forces and in-process, case-law, parliamentary questions, and other documents of general interest. Unfortunately, much of the data is only posted for 45 days. At that point, it disappears into proprietary databases. Links are also included to legal databases of the other institutions, including CELEX, CURIA, L'OEIL. TED and background information.

Lexis Nexis Universe / Legal Research / EU Law.

No court cases. Access limited to SUS researchers

Pre-Lex

Legislative tracking tool, "monitoring the decision making" processes between the Commission and other institutions.

Directory of Community Legislation in Force

Directives, decisions, and regulations currently in effect in the EU.

European Treaties

Links to founding and consolidated treaties, and explanatory materials

Information Society: Legal Advisory Board

This is an archival website covering the legal issues involved in the emerging ecommerce and information society. Links to other legal materials and national governments.

Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Links to a variety of databases covering patents in the major industrial nations.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

Connect from the UF Database Finder. Bibliographic database covering international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries apart from the US and the UK. No full text. Upon connection to Eureka, click "CHANGE FILES" and select database from list.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.