Skip to main content

History of Science: Books & E-Books

Subject Guide for History of Science

Top Reference Resources

The Libraries online catalog provides the location and call number for books in the general and reference collections. You can search by title, author or keywords. The record for each title will tell you the library location, call number and if it is a reference book. Below are some selected examples of what is available.

Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

  • Breakthroughs: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and Mathematics
  • Dictionary of the History of Science
  • Guide to the History of Science
  • Historical Catalog of Scientists and Scientific Books
  • History of Science and Technology: A Narrative Chronology
  • Information Sources in the History of Science and Medicine
  • Little Science, Big Science - And Beyond
  • Major Achievements of Science
  • Milestones in Science and Technology


Bibliographies

  • Bibliography of American Natural History
  • Bibliography of the Philosophy of Science, 1945-1981
  • Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences
  • Earth Sciences
  • Geologists and the History of Geology
  • History of Agricultural Science and Technology
  • History of Biology
  • History of Chemical Technology
  • History of Civil Engineering Since 1600
  • History of Classical Physics
  • History of Engineering Science
  • History of Geophysics and Meteorology
  • History of Mathematics From Antiquity to the Present
  • History of Modern Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • History of Modern Geography
  • History of Modern Physics
  • History of Natural History
  • History of Science and Technology in the United States
  • History of the Health Care Sciences and Health Care
  • Medieval Science and Technology
  • Natural History in America
  • Reference Books for the Historian of Science

Indexes

Indexes to the journal literature are listed below in three categories. Those dealing specifically with the history of science; those that cover science history within the broader historical context of history, the social sciences and the humanities; and those that cover science history within specific scientific disciplines. These indexes are available in print either at Library East or Marston Science Library. Most are also available online through the Libraries Database Locator (electronic versions usually do not review the literture prior to the 1980s).

Indexes - History of Science

  • ISIS / SHOT / Bibliografia Italiana / Wellcome Index includes the Current Bibliography of the History of Science (ISIS), Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (SHOT), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. NOTE: This link takes you to the Library Database Locator > then go to the History of Science database. The ISIS Cumulative Bibliography is also available in print at the Marston Science Library (MSL Indexes/1st Floor, Z7405.H6.I2). An Electronic version is also available to History of Science Society members: HSS HSTM Database.


Indexes - History, Social Sciences, Humanities

  • AMERICA, HISTORY AND LIFE
  • ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX
  • GENERAL SCIENCE INDEX
  • HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS
  • HUMANITIES INDEX
  • SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX


Indexes - Sciences, Technology, Agriculture

  • BIOSIS / BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS (1926+)
  • BOTANICAL ABSTRACTS (1918-1926; Then included in Biological Abstracts)
  • CATALOGUE OF SCIENTIFIC PAPERS (1800-1899)
  • CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS (1907+)
  • ENGINEERING INDEX (1884+)
  • GEOREF (1693+)
  • MATHEMATICAL REVIEWS (1940+)
  • SCIENCE ABSTRACTS (1898+) [Later separated into PHYSICS ABSTRACTS, ELECTRICAL & ELECTRONICS ABSTRACTS, and COMPUTER & CONTROL ABSTRACTS. These were then combined into INSPEC.]
  • ZOOLOGICAL RECORD (1864+)

Marston Science Library

Marston Science Library's picture
Marston Science Library
Contact:
University of Florida
Marston Science Library
444 Newell Drive / PO Box 117011
Gainesville, FL 32611-7011
(352) 273-2856
Website
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.