Skip to main content

History of Science: Scientists & Societies

Subject Guide for History of Science

Scientific Societies - Histories

Current

  • Encyclopedia of Associations
  • Scientific and Technical Organizations and Agencies Directory
  • World of Learning
  • World Guide to Scientific Associations and Learned Societies


Historical

  • Bibliography of American Natural History: Pioneer Century, 1769-1865
  • Handbook of Learned Societies and Institutions: America
  • Handbook of Scientific and Technical Societies and Institutions of the United States and Canada
  • Manual of Public Libraries, Institutions, and Societies in the United States and British Provinces of North America
  • Scientific Societies in the United States

Scientists - Biographies

  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BioBase). Search this database to determine if a biography has been written and where it was published. Then search the Libraries Catalog to determine if we have the book or journal in which the biography appeared.

 

Current Living Scientists

  • American Men and Women of Science
  • McGraw-Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers
  • National Leaders of American Conservation
  • Naturalists Directory & Almanac (International)
  • Who's Who in Science and Engineering
  • Also - refer to association directories for current lists of scientists.


Historical/Deceased Scientists

  • American Men and Women of Science [Previous editions]
  • American Malacologists
  • Bibliography of American Natural History: Pioneer Century, 1769-1865
  • Biographical Dictionary of American Science: The 17th-19th Centuries
  • Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
  • Biographical Index to American Science: The 17th Century to 1920
  • Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society
  • Biographical Memoirs [National Academy of Sciences, U.S.]
  • Blacks in Science and Medicine
  • Compendium of the Biographical Literature on Deceased Entomologists
  • Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography
  • Dictionary of American Biography
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography
  • Directory of British Scientists
  • Geographers Biobibliographical Studies
  • Historical Catalogue of Scientists and Scientific Books
  • Leaders in American Science
  • National Leaders of American Conservation
  • Nobel Prize Winners
  • Obituary Notices of Fellows of the Royal Society
  • Prominent Scientists of Continental Europe
  • Who's Who in Science in Europe
  • Who's Who of Nobel Prize Winners 1901-1990
  • Women in Chemistry and Physics
  • Women in Science
  • Women Scientists from Antiquity to the Present
  • World Who's Who in Science
  • Also - refer to journals in the subject specialties for obituraries.

Marston Science Library

Marston Science Library's picture
Marston Science Library
Contact:
University of Florida
Marston Science Library
444 Newell Drive / PO Box 117011
Gainesville, FL 32611-7011
(352) 273-2856
Website
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.