Guides @ UF: Microbiology & Cell Science: Databases

Key Databases

Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the ProQuest Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government documents.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches life sciences and biomedical scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, and book chapters with specific vocabulary including taxonomic data.
Gideon This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of UF Dept. of Microbiology and Cell Science. Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network (GIDEON) is a comprehensive database of historical and current infectious disease outbreaks.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Multiple databases providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database from U.S. National Library of Medicine. PubMed comprises citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and e-books, some links to full text content.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Database covering all fields of science with journal content back to 1900

Genetics Databases

Nucleotide database "is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery."

Entrez Gene "maintains information about genes from genomes of interest to the RefSeq group"

Reference Sequence (RefSeq) collection is a compendium of "comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant, well-annotated set of sequences, including genomic DNA, transcripts, and proteins."

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man ® . OMIM is a authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine "comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. It contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.

The Single Nucleotide Polymorphism database (dbSNP) is a public-domain archive for a broad collection of simple genetic polymorphisms. It can be used for gene mapping, definition of population structure, and performance of functional studies.

Genetic Testing Registry is an NCBI, free online resource that provides a centralized location for comprehensive genetic test information that is voluntarily submitted by test providers.

Atlas of Genetics and Cytogenetics in Oncology and Hematology "presents reviews (cards) or longer texts (deep insights), a huge portal towards genetics and/or cancer databases and journals, teaching items in Genetics for students in Medicine and in Sciences, and a case report section"

Gene Ontology aim to standardize the representation of gene and gene product attributes across species and databases. It contains a controlled vocabulary of terms for describing gene product characteristics and annotation data.

Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) provides a standardized vocabulary of phenotypic abnormalities encountered in human disease.

Is it refereed?

To find out if a journal is peer reviewed or refereed use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.