Jacksonville Resident Orientation: FAQ

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN  - or  -  the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

1. I'm working off campus. How can I access the databases and read electronic journals?

   The majority of our electronic databases and journals are restricted for use only by UF faculty, staff, and students. If you are on campus, the library recognizes your IP address, however if you are off campus, you will need to log on using the UF VPN software.

2. What is the best database to use for Medical and Clinical Research?
   • Make sure you are logged into the UF VPN!
   • The first option is to click the tab above for Journal Articles. Your librarians, Marina Salcedo and Kathy Moeller, have included a list of recommended databases on each page that directly link to the database search website.


3. The Borland library doesn't have my:
   • Journal: Be sure that you are looking in the catalog for the journal and not just through the e-journal locator. We have an increasing number of journals online but many titles (especially older volumes) are still in print format. The print journals in Borland are shelved by title. If we don't hold your desired journal, you can request the individual article through Interlibrary Loan (see book below).
   • Book: If you can't locate the book in the catalog, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan. Please specify as much information as you can about the desired book.
   • In either case, please contact your librarian so she is aware of the missing resource.


4. How can I make a copy of an article in a print journal?

   One combo printing/photocopying machine is available in the library. This service is free of charge, but it is limited to library materials only. Please limit your copying to 50 pages or less.

5. How can I get more help about using the library?

   The best way to obtain help is to contact Carrie D. Adams, Chris Eaton, or Alyson Young, your librarians. They can be reached by email, in person at Borland Library, or by phone at 904-244-3240. Please contact them if you are having trouble finding material, wish to place material on course reserve, have questions about databases, or would like to schedule an instruction session for yourself, class, or lab group.

   For general reference questions, please call the Borland Library at 904-244-3240.

6. I'd like to use software to manage my citations. Does the library provide such software?

   We offer various options, depending on your preference. This includes EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley. Please reach out with any questions or for additional instruction!