Guides @ UF: Health Services Research, Management, and Policy: Policy Resources

State

Florida Legislature
Florida Senate and House of Representatives. Statutes Laws and "Citator", current session reports updated several times daily.
Florida Legal Research
FindLaw's Florida page of links
2017 State Legislative and Regulatory Prospectus
Prospectus outlines the public health state legislative priorities for 2017, including substance use, public health infrastructure, and healthcare reform.
National Academy for State Health Policy
Publications and policy, including health coverage and access, Medicaid managed care, quality and measurement, value-based purchasing.
Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (OPPAGA)
The research arm of the Florida Legislature, OPPAGA supports the Florida Legislature by providing data, evaluative research, and objective analyses that assist legislative budget and policy deliberations.
Online Sunshine: 2020 Florida Statutes
Florida Health Finder

City/County/Municipality

Circuit Court Clerk's Office - Alachua County: Public Records
Court, official and "ancient" records
Municode (Florida Municipal Codes)
Peer City Identification Tool
Federal Reserve's online tool to match cities experiencing similar trends or challenges to provide context for policymakers. Choose your city (click on the map or search), select a theme (e.g. demographics, economics), and scroll down to explore the results

International/Global

Global Health Policy Blog
From Center for Global Developoment

Articles of possible interest

Executive Action as a Tool for Promoting Evidence-Based Public Health Decision-Making
2/12/19 article from Network for Public Health Law on role of governors' executive orders and directives in advancing public health goals.

Nonprofit Organizations involved in (Health) Policy

Assessment Tools

Health Equity Assessment Tool
Software application that facilitates the assessment of within-country health inequalities. It was developed for use on desktop or laptop computers and mobile devices. Two versions:
HEAT, Built-In Database Edition, which comes pre-installed with the Health Equity Monitor database.
HEAT Plus, Upload Database Edition, which allows users to upload and work with their own database.

Finances & Politcs

Open Secrets
A creation of the Center for Responsive Politics and the National Institute on Money in Politics. "Recent reports" and informaiton on ."dark money" and political action committees.Not health specfic.

Law primers

Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute's Legal Encyclopedia
Searchable, browsable free encyclopedia of legal terms.
House Office the Legislative Counsel: Drafting Legislation
Forms of legislation. Structuting/organizing, amending, use and conventions of federal statutes
Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. Legislative Srouce Book
Last updated 9/4/21. Portal of links to research guides & explanations, resources lists & links and information tables

Subject Guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878

National

The Week in Congress
Online weekly summary of the bills and amendments proposed and voted on during the week in the Senate and House of Representatives. Published on Thursday, updated Fridays.
Health Affairs Policy Briefs
Published monthly to explore health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Aims to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.
Commonwealth Fund
Private foundation. Goal: to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency. Supports independent research to reach this goal.
Congressional Publications
How Courts Work
American Bar Association is divided into sections (Courts and Legal Procedure, Steps in a Trial, Mediation) and subsections within them, such as "How a Case Moves through the Courts". and short narratives on Pleadings, Plea Bargaining, Judgment and Sentencing.
Supreme Court Cases
FindLaw's searchable database of US Supreme Court cases since 1893.
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Grants & scholarships, data warehouse, training, health center locator. Program areas include organ/bone marrow/cord blood donation & transplantation, specific population groups, poison, injury, maternal-child health, health workforce, HIV/AIDS.A-Z index shows the site also informs on autism, health equity, global health, human subjects protection, oral health, radiation exposure, rural health, telemedicine.
National Academies of Science - Science Engineering and Medicine Division
Formerly the Institute of Medicine, HMD is a division of the non-governmental organization chartered as the National Academy of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. HMD provides independent guidance and analysis on health and science policy. HMD also convenes a series of forums, roundtables, and standing committees, as well as other activities, to facilitate discussion, discovery, and critical, cross-disciplinary thinking.
Case Law Access Project
Harvard Law School's Case Law Access Project, which aims to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library. NOT specific to medicine/health.
Galen Institute
"A non-profit, Section 501(c)(3) public policy research organization devoted to advancing ideas and policies to create a vibrant, patient-centered health sector. We facilitate public debate and education about proposals that support individual freedom, consumer choice, competition, and innovation in the health sector." Webpage features "major" papers, interviews, and health policy consensus group sections. Topics covered include health savings accounts, "Obamacare", prescription drugs, Medicare and Medicaid,
Institute of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine: Publicl poilcy
Committee on Science, Engineering, Medicine, and Public Policy's publications and events.
The Joint Commission
Nonprofit organization that accredits and certifies health care organizations and programs in the U.S. It provides information on safety and quality of care and research in order to develop evidence-based and meaningful performance measures that underpin its public policy initiatives.
Kaiser Family Foundation
A nonprofit foundation that focuses on the major health care issues facing the U.S. Develops and runs its own research and communications programs and serves as a lead nonpartisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.
National Conference of State Legislatures
National Quality Forum
A membership-based, nonprofit organization created to develop and implement a national strategy for health care quality measurement and reporting on patient outcomes, workforce productivity – including nursing quality – and health care costs.
Network for Public Health Law
Alliance for Health Policy
Health policy handbook, glossary, toolkits, Congressional resources, and information on topic areas such as the Affordable Care Act, private coverage and workforce.
POLARIS
CDC’s policy-relevant research, data, and resources about specific health topics
Robert Wood Johnson Foundaton
Devoted exclusively to improving the health and health care of all. It builds evidence and produces, synthesizes, and distributes knowledge, new ideas, and expertise in various health areas.
Trust for America's Health
Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to protecting health in every community. It aims to make disease prevention a national priority.

With thanks to the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists, from whose webpage many of these suggestions and much of the annotation wording derived.

American College of Healthcare Executives
Learning Center and career resources/job center.
Healthcare Financial Management Association
Practical tools and solutions, education, industry analyses, and strategic guidance for members
UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
Publications and programs including chronic disease, heatlh economics and evaluatin research, health data and health disparites and topic areas such as elder health and Latinx health.
US House Depository
Committee documents and text of legislation being considered in committee and by the House
U.S. Government Information