Guides @ UF: Health Services Research, Management, and Policy: Health Economics

News from Health Economics.com

Databases

NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Critical appraisals of economic studies. Archived up to Dec 2015. No longer being added to but a good place for publications evaluating health interventions in terms of cost/value/cost-benefits. Projected to be mothballed in March 2022, so if you find it useful, use it now!

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business database--not specific to health/medical enterprise, hosted on the ProQuest platform.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health (including health admin/econ) Literature hosted on the Ebsco database platform
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Database of general economics (NOT specifically health economics) from Ebsco.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
Ebsco database specific to health and admin/marketing, etc.

Electronic (E-)books

Economic Evaluation in Public Health
Overview of methods and tools that can help to inform public health decisions based on economic principles. Economic perspective but the principles address health outcomes. Intended for public health program planners, managers, and funders who are not familiar with economic evaluation but want to become familiar with its fundamentals.

Think tanks, research centers

Economic Policy Institute - Health
Analyzes the U.S. health care system through the lens of low- and moderate income families’ living standards, with special attention to employer-sponsored health insurance, the burden of health costs, and disparities in access and outcomes.

Educational Resources

Health Economics Information Resources
From National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR). 4 module self-study course and Glossary of Frequently Encountered Terms in Health Economics

Health Economics (Basic terminology and search terms)
40 slide PowerPoint presentation on terms used in Health Economics and a little on relevant subject headings in Embase, PubMed and other databases

Tradeoffs - Podcasts from Health Economics.com

Tradeoffs
Podcasts about health care, policy, and people

Assessment Tools

World Health Organization's Health Equity Assessment Toolkit
2 editions: HEAT, pre-installed with the Health Equity Monitor database and HEAT Plus, which allows users to upload and work with their own database. Purpose: "assessment of within-country health inequalities."

Additional Websites

Academy Health
Health Services Research--"what works, for whom, at what cost, and under what circumstances... how our health system [operates], how to support patients and providers in choosing the right care, and how to improve health through care delivery.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Topics, research, data, tools, funding, training/education.
American Enterprise Institute's Healthcare section
America's Health Insurance Plans
ASHEcon:: American Society of Health Economists
Information on membership, conferences, jobs and awards for this professional association.
US Dept of Commerce's Bureau of Economic Analysis
Data, tools, resources (one page specific to students), research, learning center and multimedia.
Center for Studying Health System Change
Changes in Health Care Financing and Organization (HCFO)
Commonwealth Fund
Center for the Evaluation of Value and Risk in Health
Includes a Cost-Effectiveness Analysis Registry, a comprehensive database of >10,000 cost-utility analyses on a wide variety of diseases and treatments published from 1976 to the present.
The Council on Health Care Economics and Policy's Princeton Conference
The Council on Health Care Economics and Policy's signature event is the Princeton Conference, held annually in Princeton, N.J. These conferences have served as national platforms for health policy experts to present and debate key issues.
The Incidental Economist
Health services research blog.
International Health Economics Association (iHEA)
Membership, special interest groups, events/congress, career center.
International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR)
"the leading professional society for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR) globally." Resources, initiatives, events, education, publications, and "solutions center."
Mathematica/Center for Healthcare Effectiveness (CHCE)
Sections on clinical quality measures, delivery system reform, disability, health info technology, long-term services & supports, Medicaid, mental health, substance abuse, quality improvement, state health policy. Also links on evidence, insights, solutions, events and careers
MedPac
Sections include "Medicare 101" and "research areas" (including ambulatory and post-acute care, private plans, drugs & devices, regional issues)
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Programs & Projects divided into Health Care and Health Economics
OECD (Organization for Ecoomic Cooperation and Development)Health Data
Focus areas of these global data include health care use, health equipment, health resources, health risk and health status
Rand Health Care
Sections include US health policy, payments & costs, innovations in delivery, mental health, caregiving, quality of care, tools and methods, research, latest insights and policy experts by research area.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Focus areas include health systems, healthy communities, leadership for better health.
Social Science Research Network: Health & Society
Programs & Projects, Opportunities (including the Mercury Project on health misinformation), Publications
Social Science Research Network's Health Economics Network (HEN)
Segctions on top authors, recent papers, subject areas, conference proceedings, job openings, professional announcements and research paper series.
Urban Institute: Health Policy
Sections on publications and projects.
FRED
Federal Reserve Bank (St Louis) Economic Data

Historicl Health Care Policy Research Resources

FDsys (Federal Digital System)
Free access to government literature from all 3 branches of the US government.
National Archives
Provides access yo PResidential LIbraries, archived Presidential websites and the Natinoal Archives catalog
Library of Congress digitized resources: Subject - Health
Multimedia digitized resources dating 1400 to "2099" by century, 104th Congress forward, revisions of the CFR from 1941 forward, House bills, Senate bills, House Resolutions, Senate Resolutions, US CFR Titles 9 (animals and animal products) and 42 (public health), public health posters

Subject Guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878