Note: Unless otherwise indicated, the following reference materials are located in the Reference area of Smathers Library.
Research Guides
Library research guide to religion and theology: illustrated search strategy and sources. 2nd rev ed. Kennedy, James R. Ann Arbor, Mich: Pierian Press; 1984.
BL41 .K45 1984
Recent reference books in religion : a guide for students,, scholars, researchers, buyers & readers. William M. , Johnston.Rev. ed.Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998. Z7751 .J654 1998
Research guide to religious studies. Wilson,John Frederick; Slavens, Thomas P. Chicago: American Library Association; 1982.
BL41 .W5
Writing and research in religious studies. Miller, Donald Eugene. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1992.
BL41 .W75 1992
Abstracts and Indexes
The Catholic periodical and literature index. Haverford, Pa: Catholic Library Association.
AI3 .C32
A general index to the names and subject-matter of The sacred books of the East. With a pref. by A. A. MacDonell. Delhi, Motilal Banarsidass <1966> Reprint of the 1910 ed. 291.82 S123 1965 v.50 Indexes Library West
BL1010 .S3 v.50 1966
Index Islamicus 1906-1955: a catalogue of articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications. University of London School of Oriental and African Studies Library; Pearson, J.D., comp. Cambridge, Eng: W. Heffere, 1958.
Z7835 .M6 L6 Supplements 961-65, 1966-70, 1971-75.
Index Islamicus. 1994, no. 1- East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK : Bowker-Saur, 1994-
Z7835.M6 L612
The Quarterly index Islamicus. London: Mansell. v. 1-17, no. 3/4; Jan. 1977-1993. Note: "Current books, articles, and papers on Islamic studies."
Z7835.M6L61
ATLA religion database Evanston, Il : American Theological Library Association Annual Began in 1993.
Contents: Religion index one: periodicals (1949-) -- Religion index two: multi-author works (1960-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1949-) -- Research in ministry (1981-) -- Methodist reviews index (1818- 1985).
Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Religion indexes : thesaurus. 4th ed. Cole, Steven W. Chicago, Ill: American Theological Library Association; c1987.
Z7753 .A52 1987. Reference Reserve.
Religious and theological abstracts. v.
BR1 .R286
Dictionaries
Abingdon dictionary of living religions. Keith Crim, general editor. Nashville, Tenn. : Abingdon, c1981.
BL31 .A24
Dictionary of American religious biography. 2nd ed. rev. and enl. Bowden, Henry Warner. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1993
BL72 .B68 1993
A dictionary of Asian mythology; by David Leeming. New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
BL1005 .L46 2001
A dictionary of Christian biography, literature, sects and doctrines: being a continuation of "The dictionary of the Bible.". Smith, William Sir; Wace, Henry. New York: AMS Press; 1967. 4v.
BR95 S65 1967
Dictionary of Christian lore and legend. Metford, J. C.J. New York, N.Y: Thames and Hudson; 1983.
BR95 .M396 1983
Dictionary of Christianity in America. Reid, Daniel G., et al. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press; c1990.
BR515 .D53 1990
A Dictionary of comparative religion. Brandon, S. G.F., ed. New York: Scribner; <1970>.
BL31 .D54 1970
Dictionary of mysticism and the esoteric traditions. Drury, Nevill Rev. ed. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1992.
BF1407 .D78 1992
A dictionary of religious & spiritual quotations. Parrinder, Geffrey. Chicago: American Library Association; 1982 (Sources of information in the humanities; v.1).
BL48 .D521 1990
BL1284.52 .R45 2004
The Facts on File dictionary of religions. Hinnells, John R. New York: Facts on File; c1984.
BL31 .F33 1984
A glossary of liturgical and ecclesiastical terms. Lee, Frederick George. London: B. Quaritch; 1877.
BR95 .L4
Historical dictionary of Taoism. Julian F. Pas, in , cooperation with Man Kam Leung. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.
BL1923 .P37 1998
Historical dictionary of Islam Ludwig W. Adamec. Lanham, Md.:Scarecrow Press, 2001.
BP50 .A33 2001
BL1303 .W45 2004
Historical dictionary of new religious movements George D. Chryssides. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001.
BP601 .C47 2001
Historical dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. Hans J. Hillerbrand.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2000.
BR302.8 .H55 1999
International biographical dictionary of religion : an encyclopedia of more than 4,000 leading personalities. Munchen : Saur, 1994.
BL72 .I584 1994
Jesus and his world : an archaeological and cultural dictionary Minneapolis : Fortress Press, c1995.
BR130.5 .R68 1995
The New dictionary of Catholic social thought. Collegeville, Minn. : Liturgical Press, c1994.
BX1753 .N497 1994
The New dictionary of Catholic spirituality. Collegeville, Minn. : Liturgical Press, c1993.
BX2350.65 .N49 1993
The New Westminster dictionary of liturgy and worship. 1st American ed. Davies, J. G. Philadelphia: Westminster Press; c1986.
BV173 .N49 1986
BL715 .O845 2003
The Oxford dictionary of Popes. Kelly, J. N. D. Oxford New York: Oxford University Press; 1986.
BX955.2 .K45 1986
The Oxford dictionary of saints. 2nd ed. Farmer, David Hugh. Oxford New York: Oxford University Press; 1987.
BR1710 .F34 1987
BL31.O84 1997
Peculiar prophets : a biographical dictionary of new religions by James R. Lewis. 1st ed. St. Paul, Minn. : Paragon House, 1999.
BL72 .L48 1999
The Penguin dictionary of religions. Hinnells, John R. Harmondsworth, Middlesex, England New York, N.Y., U.S.A: Penguin Books; 1984.
BL31 .P38 1984
Religious sites in America: a dictionary. Mary Ellen Snodgrass.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000.
BL581.U6 S66 2000
Who's who in Christianity. Lavinia Cohn-Sherbok. London New York : Routledge, 1998
BR1700.2 .C64 1998
Encyclopedias
The Brill Dictionary of Religion. 4 vols.
BL31.M4813 2006 Library West, Reference
Concise encyclopedia of language and religion edited by John F.A.
Sawyer, J.M.Y. Simpson ; consulting editor, R.E. Asher. Amsterdam ; New York:
Elsevier, 2001.
P41 .C65 2001
Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16 v.
DS102.8 .E496
The encyclopedia of African and African-American religions, Stephen D.,
Glazier, editor. New York : Routledge, 2001.
BL2462.5 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of African American religions. New York : Garland Pub., 1993.
BR563.N4 E53 1993
The encyclopedia of American religions. 2nd ed. Melton, J. Gordon. Detroit, Mich: Gale Research Co; c1987.
BL2525 .M449 1987
Encyclopedia of American religion and politics. Paul A. Djupe and Laura R.
Olson. New York : Facts On File, 2003.
BL2525 .D58 2003
The Encyclopedia of American religions, religious creeds : a compilation of more than 450 creeds, confessions,statements of faith, and summaries of doctrine of religious and spiritual groups in the United States and Canada. 1st ed. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1988.
BT990 .E58 1988
Encyclopedia of American religious history. Edward L. Queen II, Stephen R. Prothero, and Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr., Rev. ed. New York : Facts on File, c2001. 2 v.
BL2525 .Q44 2001
Encyclopedia of American women and religion. June Melby. Benowitz.Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
BL2525 .B45 1998
Encyclopedia of ancient deities. Coulter, Russell Charles and Patricia Turner. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2000.
BL782 .C67 2000
The encyclopedia of apocalypticism. New York : Continuum, 1998.
BL501 ,Ente.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Buddhism. New York : Macmillan, USA,2003. BQ128 .E62 2003
The encyclopedia of cults, sects, and new religions. James R. Lewis. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 1998.
BL2525 .L49 1998
Encyclopedia of early Christianity. Ferguson, Everett. New York: Garland Pub; 1990.
BR162.2 .E53 1990
Encyclopedia of gods : over 2,500 deities of the world. London : Kyle Cathie Limited, 1992.
BL715 .J671 1992
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman mythology. Mike Dixon-Kennedy. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 1998
BL715 .D56 1998
Encyclopedia of heaven. Miriam Van Scott.New York : St. Martin's Press, 1999.
BL540 .V36 1999
Encyclopedia of hell. Miriam Van Scott. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1998.
BL545 .V26 1998
Encyclopaedia of Islam. Houtsma, M. Th. Leiden New York: E.J. Brill; 1987. 9 v.
DS35.53 .E53 1987
Encyclopedia of Mormonism. New York : Macmillan, c1992
BX8605.5 .E62 1992 Library West
The encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction. Hirschfelder, Arlene B New York : Facts on File, c1992.
E98.R3 H73 1991
Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies
of North America. William S. Lyon. Published: Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
E98.M4 L98 1998
The encyclopedia of politics and religion. Robert Wuthnow,
editor in chief. Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, c1998.
BL65.P7 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of religion and society. William H. Swatos, Jr., editor. Walnut Creek, Calif. : AltaMira Press, c1998.
BL60 .E53 1998
The Encyclopedia of religion. Eliade, Mircea; Adams, Charles J. New York, N.Y London: Macmillan Collier Macmillan Publishers; c1987.
BL31 .E46 1987
Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics. Hastings, James; Selbie, John Alexander; Gray, Louis Herbert, ed. New York: Scribner's; <1955?>. 13 v.
BL31 .E44
Encyclopedia of religion and society. William H. Swatos, Jr., editor ; Peter Kvisto, associate editor ; Barbara J. Denison, James McClenon, assistant editors. Walnut Creek, Calif.: AltaMira Press, c1998.
BL60 .E53 1998
The encyclopedia of religion and war. New York, NY : Routledge, 2003.
BL80.3 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of religion in American politics. edited by Jeffrey D. Schultz, John G. West, Jr. and Iain MacLean. Ariz.:Oryx Press, 1999.
BL2525 .E52 1999
Encyclopedia of religion in the South. Hill, Samuel S. : Mercer; c1984.
BR535 .E52 1984
Encyclopedia of religious controversies in the United States. edited by George H. Shriver and Bill J. Leonard. Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 1997.
BR515 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of religious freedom. New York : Routledge2003.
BV741 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of religious rites, rituals, and festivals. New York: Routledge, 2004
BL2017.3 .S561 1992
The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism. Patiala:Punjabi University,1992-1998.4 v. BL2017.3 .S561 1992
Encyclopedia of the American religious experience : studies of traditions and movements. Lippy, Charles H.; Williams, Peter W. New York: Scribner; 1987. 3 v.
BL2525 .E53 1987
Encyclopedia of the Vatican and papacy. edited by Frank J.Coppa. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
BX955.2 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of women and world religion. edited by Serinity Young. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c1999.
BL458 .E53 1999
The Encyclopedia of world faiths : an illustrated survey of the world's living religions. Bishop, Peter D.; Darton,Michael. New York, N.Y: Facts on File Publications; 1988, c1987.
BL80.2 .E495 1988
Goddesses in world mythology Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1993.
BL473.5 .A66 1993
The Hindu world. New York : Routledge, 2004.
BL1202.H546 2004
The Hindu world; an encyclopedic survey of Hinduism . Walker, Benjamin. New York, Praeger <1968>.
BL1105 .W34 1968. 2 v.
Man, myth & magic : the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown. New ed. 21 vols. New York : M. Cavendish, 1995.
BF1411 .M25 1995
Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of world religions. Wendy Doniger, consulting editor.Springfield, Mass. : Merriam-Webster, c1999.
BL31 .M47 1999
New Catholic encyclopedia. New York: McGraw Hill; <1967-. v
BX841 .N44 1967
New age encyclopedia: a guide to the beliefs, concepts, terms, people, and organizations that make up the new global movement toward spiritual development, health and healing, higher consciousness, and related subjects. 1st ed.
Melton, J. Gordon; Clark, Jerome; Kelly, Aidan A. Detroit. Mich: Gale Research; 1990.
BP605 .N48 M441 1990
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
DS35.53 .O95 1995
Religion and American cultures:an encyclopedia of traditions, diversity and popular expressions Santa Barbara, Calif.:ABC-CLIOc2003-
BL2525 .R448 2003
RoutledgeCurzon encyclopedias of Confucianism. New York:Routledge, 2003.
BL1840.R68 2003
Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
Cults in America : a reference handbook. James R. Lewis.Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
BL2525 .L486 1998
Eerdmans' handbook to Christianity in America. Noll, Mark A. Grand Rapids, Mich: Eerdmans; 1983.
BR515 .E37 1983
Eerdmans'handbook to the world's religions. Beaver, R. Pierce. 1st American ed ed. Grand Rapids, Mich: W.B. Eerdmans Pub. Co; 1982.
BL80.2 .E35 1982
The Eliade guide to world religions. Mircea Eliade, Ioan P. Couliano, with Hillary S. Wiesner. 1st ed. : HarperSanFrancisco, c1991.
BL80.2 .E415 1991
The encyclopedic handbook of cults in America. Rev. and updated ed. Gordon, Melton J. New York: Garland Pub.,1992
BL2525.M451992
Goddesses in world mythology. Ann, Martha Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1993.
BL473.5 .A66 1993
Guide to the gods. Leach, Marrjorie; Jones, Michael Owen; Cattermole Tally, Frances Maybell. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO; 1992.
BL 473 .L43 1990
Guide to gods and goddesses. 1st U.S. ed. Carlyon, Richard. New York: Morrow; 1982, c1981.
BL473 .C37 1982
Handbook of denominations in the United States. New 9th ed. Mead, Frank Spencer; Hill, Samuel S.Nashville: Abingdon Press; c1990.
BL2525 .M425 1990
Islam in North America : a sourcebook. New York : Garland Pub., 1992.
BP67.A1 I82 1992
Longman guide to Bible quotations. Harlow, Essex, England : Longman, 1986.
BS1171.2 .M32 1986
The Muslim almanac: a reference work on the history, faith, culture, and peoples of Islam.
Detroit: Gale Research, c1996.
BP40 .M83 1996 Ref Res.
The Muslim diaspora : a comprehensive reference to the spreadof Islam in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas. Everett Jenkins, Jr. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 1999.
BP50 .J46 1999
A new handbook of living religions edited by John R. Hinnells. Cambridge, Mass. : Blackwell Publishers, 1997.
BL80.2 .H275 1996
The Oxford handbook of philosophy of religion ;Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
BL51 .O94
Pilgrimage : from the Ganges to Graceland. Santa Barbara, Calif.:ABC-CLIO,2002.
BL619.P5 D38 2002
Religion and politics : a reference handbook John W. Storey
and Glenn H. Utter. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2002.
BL65.P7 S76 2002
Religions of the ancient world. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2004.
BL687 .R47 2004
Religions of the world: Santa Barbara, Calif.:ABC-CLIO,c2002.
BL80.3 .R45 2002
Religions on file. New York: Facts on File; c1990.
BL82 .R45 1990
Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States: Nashville, Tenn.: Glenmary Research Institute, c2002-
BL2525 .R4689 +CD-ROM
Religious holidays and calendars: an encyclopedic handbook, edited by Karen Bellenir. 2nd ed. Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, c1998.
CE6 .R45 1997
Religious information sources : a worldwide guide. Melton, Gordon J. and Michael A. Koszegi. New York : Garland Pub., 1992.
BL48 .M441 1992
Sex and religion. Christel Manning. Belmont, CA.ThomsonWadsworth, 2005.
BL65.S4 M36 2005 Understanding Islam and Muslim traditions. Detroit, Mich.:Omnigraphics,2004.
BP161.3.G85 2004
The World's religions. edited by Stewart Sutherland et al.. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1988.
BL80.2 .W68 1988
Atlases
The atlas of holy places & sacred sites. New York :DK Pub.,1996.
BL580 .W55 1996
Atlas of man and religion. Hawes, Gordon K.; Knight, Stanley. Oxford, New York: Religious Education Press, 1970.
G1046 .E4 H3 1970
Atlas of religious change in America, 1952-1990. Atlanta : Glenmary Research Center, c1994.
G1201.E4 H3 1994
The atlas of sacred places : meeting points of heaven and earth. 1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1994.
BL580 .H37 1994
Atlas of the Christian church. Chadwick, henry; Evans, G.R. New York:NY: Facts on file Publications, 1987.
BR98 .A74 1987
Cultural atlas of Islam. Al-Faruqi, Isma-il R.; Faruqi, Lois Ibsen. New York: Macmillan Collier. London: Macmillan, 1986.
DS36.85 .A39 1986
Directories and Yearbooks
American Jewish year book. Philadelphia : American Jewish Committee . v.
E184.J5 A6. Judaica, Periodicals
Directory of religious organizations in the United States of America. Geisendorfer, James V.
BL2530.U6 D57
National directory of churches, synagogues, and other houses of worship. 1st ed. 4 v. Detroit : Washington, D.C. :London : Gale Research, Inc., c1994-
BL2525 .N38
The Official Catholic directory. New York, : P. J. Kennedy . v.
BX845 .C5
Religious bodies in the United States : a directory. New York : Garland Pub., 1992
BL2525 .M452 1992
Religious Periodicals Directory. Cornish, Graham, ed. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1986.
Z7753 .C75 1986
Yearbook of American and Canadian churches. Nashville: Abingdon Press.
BR513 .Y4
Bibliographies
Bibliography of new religious movements in primal societies. Turner, Harold W Boston : G. K. Hall, c1977- v. v. 1. Black Africa. -- v. 2. North America. -- v. 3. Oceania - - v. 4. Europe and Asia -- v.5. Latin America.
Z7833 .T87
Feminist spirituality and the feminine divine : an annotated bibliography. Carson, Anne.Trumansburg, N.Y. : Crossing Press, c1986.
BL458 .C39 1986
Goddesses & wise women : the literature of feminist spirituality, 1980-1992 : an annotated bibliography. Carson, Anne. Freedom, CA : Crossing Press, c1992.
Z7963.R45 C37 1992
Guide to Islam. Ede, David. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall; c1983.
Z7835.M6 G84 1983
New religious movements in the United States and Canada : a critical assessment and annotated bibliography.Choquette, Diane. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985.
Z7834.U6 C46 1985
Reference works for theological research: an annotated selective bibliographic guide.3rd ed. Kepple, Robert J.Washington, D.C.: University press of America; c1981.
BR 118 .K461 1992
Religious bibliographies in serial literature: a guide. Walsh, Michael J. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press; 1981.
Z7753 .W34 1981
Research on religion and aging : an annotated bibliography. Koenig, Harold George: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995.
BL65.A46 K64 1995
The sociology of religion : an organizational bibliography. Blasi, Anthony J.; Cuneo, Michael W. New York: Garland Pub; 1990.
BL 60 .B54 1990
Theological and religious reference materials. Gorman, G. E.; Gorman, Lyn. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press; c1984-
Z7770 .G66 1984
Women in American religious history : an annotated bibliography. Bass, Dorothy C.; Boyd, Sandra Hughes. Boston MA: G.K. Hall; c1986.
Z7963.R45 B37 1986
The Bible
The Anchor Bible dictionary. 1st ed. Freedman, David Noel. New York: Doubleday; 1992. 6 vols.
BS440 .A54 1992 and on CD-ROM
Nelson's complete concordance of the Revised Standard version Bible. 2nd ed. Ellison, John W. Nashville: T. Nelson
Publishers, 1984.
BS425 .E4 1984
New exhaustive concordance of the Bible. The New Strong's exhaustive concordance of the Bible: with main concordance, appendix to the main concordance, key verse comparison chart, dictionary of the Hebrew Bible,dictionary of the Greek Testament. Strong, James. Nashville: T. Nelson Publishers, 1984.
BS425 .S8 1984
The New Interpreter's Bible : general articles &, introduction, commentary, & reflections for each book of, the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books. Nashville: Abingdon Press, c1994-
BS491.2 .N484 1994
New Testament abstracts. Cambridge, Mass: Weston School of Theology, 1956- v.
BS410 .N35
Old Testament abstracts. Washington: Catholic Biblical Association of America. v.
BS410 .O42
The Times atlas of the Bible. London : Times, 1987.
G2230 .T551 1987 Reference, OVERSIZE
