Skip to main content

Pharmacy: Finding Dissertations & Theses

Pharmacy resources and help

UF dissertations

All dissertations & theses written by students who entered into graduate programs in 2001 or later are only available online.

Some theses beginning in 1998 are online.

Older theses and dissertations are being digitized, and may be both in print and online.


May we digitize yours?

If your dissertation or thesis has not yet been digitzed, please contact us! See details on our permission page.

How Do I Find Dissertations?

For UF Dissertations/Theses: Dissertations/theses are treated as books in the UF Catalog and you can find them by searching by author, title, or year. They also have the special designation of "thesis" and your search can include this term in the advanced search page by using can be located in the UF Catalog by using keyword=thesis.

Starting in Fall 2001, UF made the transition to requiring all students to publish their dissertations electronically. These will be listed as online in the catalog and are in PDF format.

Browse for UF dissertations by department 

Search Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database for UF dissertations and theses

For Non-UF Dissertations/Theses:

Search ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text to identify many dissertations written at many universities and read the full-text of the dissertations. The database covers 1867 to the present; however, each university's coverage varies.

  • Some notable exceptions include Harvard and MIT.
  • Masters' theses are usually not included in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses lists all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by members of OCLC, a worldwide library consortium. This database includes links to full text of many freely-available theses and indicates whether any member library has a print copy that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) provides links to theses that may be freely available online.

The Index to Theses "accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards" includes abstracts. This database covers theses accepted from 1970 to the present.

The Theses Canada Portal provides search and access information for print and online theses and dissertations from Canadian institutions from 1965 to the present.

The Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) maintains a list of sites with e-theses.

You may encounter some citations/references to theses and dissertations in subject-based indexes and abstracts. Identify these indexes through the Journal Articles tab.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.