Skip to main content

Asian Studies: Japan

Off Campus?

Display off-campus connection options.

Off-Campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources is limited to current UF students, staff, and faculty.


New Japanese Books


Once you hit "search" in an Advanced Search screen after designating Language as Japanese, you will get a hit list of all the books in the catalog coded as Japanese.  On the left side of the screen in the "Narrow Results By:" section, scroll down and click the "New Titles" link in the bottom-most "Subcollection" category. This will result in a list of the new Japanese books in the Smathers Libraries Japanese Collection.

Subscription Database List

Alert! Only one user at a time from UF may be connected. Please log off when done to open access for someone else.

JapanKnowledge (Primarily in Japanese with some English) -- This database contains a number of reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, Gendai Yogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, and other full-text and partial full-text resources. Language is primarily Japanese. Some English.



アジア歴史資料センター ... Japan Center for Asian Historical Records, National Archives of Japan

A wide range of official documents concerning details of the Pacific War have been included in public releases by Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR). Commemorating the August 15th anniversary of the end of the Pacific War, this special feature introduces a number of documents and items thematically dealing with the cessation of the Pacific War. This feature includes official documents published over the past year, notably the former Japanese military’s “Action Report; War Dairy,” which was preserved in the Ministry of Defense National Institute for Defense Studies.

日本貿易振興機関アジア経済研究所 Institutions of Developing Economies Japan External Trade Organization


NYPL Digital Gallery, Asia and the Pacific Rim in Early Prints and Photographs

Fine Prints: Japanese, pre-1915, Library of Congress


The Floating World of Ukiyo-e : Shadows, Dreams, and Substances, Library of Congress


Encycloopedia of Shinto

The original Shinto jiten is the most widely used general work of reference regarding Shinto in Japan today. The online Encyclopedia of Shinto is the English translation of the Shinto jiten with links to video images, illustrations, photographs and sound files. By introducing the results of modern Shinto research through this medium, contribution will be made to the further growth of international research on Shinto and Japanese culture.


Graphic detabase available from the National Museum of Japaense History




特 許 電 子 図 書 館 Industrial Property Digital Library



MAINICHI Photo Bank ... More than 200,000 photographos in Japan since the pre-WWII period.

Asian Studies Library Guide

Jana Ronan's picture
Jana Ronan
Library West 512

352 273-2623
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.