Skip to main content

Citation Management: 3. Add Citations to an EndNote Library

How to ...

EndNote makes it possible to move citations into an EndNote Library multiple ways. This section will talk briefly about each technique and then provide an instruction chart for obtaining some commonly used databases at UF.

Connecting
A connection file allows you to import references from library catalogs and a few public databases such as PubMed that don't require a password.

  1. Go to Tools menu > Connect > Connect ...
  2. Select Library Catalog (U Florida) and click Connect
    When the connection has been established, an empty Retrieved References window opens
  3. Enter your search request into EndNote's Search window
  4. Click Search
  5. EndNote searches and displays the number of references found
  6. Click OK to retrieve the reference(s)

Filtering Generally, for subscription databases that require a password, EndNote uses the import definition files or "filters" that allow you to import references from the databases.

To use Filtering :

  • execute your database search
  • mark your citations
  • view your marked items
  • select citation export filter to EndNote
  • select the filter from the dialog box
  • export to EndNote

Direct Export to EndNote

Several database vendors support direct export to EndNote. Using this option eliminates the need to select a filter. Database vendors that currently support direct export include EBSCO, Web of Science, Project Muse, ProQuest and Science Direct.

To use Direct Export:

  • execute your search
  • mark your citations
  • view your marked items
  • select the direct export option to EndNote

Text-File Importing

In some cases you can save your results in a tab delimited text file (e.g. PubMed - watch the video at the top of the page or see step-by-step instructions  below) and then import the results into EndNote using File >Import

Instructions for connecting and filtering from many of our databases

Endnote Information
ABC-CLIO
  • America: History & Life
  • Historical Abstracts
To import tab-delimited search results into EndNote

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into a tab-delimited text file
3. Click "View Tagged Only"
4. Click "Export Options" at the top of the result list
5. Choose "EndNote" and then click "Export Records"
6. Click "Export to Citation Manager"
8. Choose "open with ris default" and find your EndNote file to open.

Library catalog
  1. In EndNote go to Tools menu > Connect > Connect ...
  2. Select (U Florida) and click Connect
  3. When the connection has been established, an empty Retrieved References window opens
  4. Enter your search request into EndNote's Search window
  5. Click Search
  6. EndNote searches and displays numbers of references found
  7. Click OK to retrieve the reference(s)
CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Text file importing

1. Mark references to be saved
2. Select save, print, email
3. Select save file format (PC or Mac)
4. Next you will need to open a Library in EndNote.
5. Select Import from the File menu
6.Select the CSA file you just saved and the CSA filter you want to use.
7. Click on the Import button and your citations will be downloaded into the EndNote database.

EBSCOhost Databases
  • Academic Search Premier
  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • Business Source Premier
  • Econlit
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals (Refman)
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Old Testament Abstracts
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • Regional Business News
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  • Scientific American Archive (Refman)
  • SocINDEX with Full Text

IMPORTANT NOTE: Titles that do not have a Filter to work with the Direct Export need to use the Refman Generic filter. Refman is noted next to those titles. The use of the Refman "Generic" reference type will cause the reference not to display properly (particularly in APA5). You must manually change the reference type in order for the reference to display properly as a journal article, newspaper article, book, etc.

To direct-export citations (automatically selects filter file if you have it):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote by clicking on the "Add" folder icon
3. Click "folder has items"
4. Choose "export" at the top of the result list
5. Choose "Direct export Endnote, ProCite or Reference Manager"
6. Choose "Save"

JSTOR

1. Perform your search
2. Mark references to be saved ("Save citation")
3. Choose "View saved citations"
4. Choose "Directly export into EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager"

OCLC First Search Databases
  • Alternative Press Index
  • ArticleFirst
  • Books in Print
  • Contemporary Women's Issues
  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Electronic Collections Online
  • ERIC
  • GPO Monthly Catalog
  • Medline
  • Newspaper Abstracts
  • PAIS PapersFirst
  • Philosophers Index
  • Proceedings First
  • WorldCat
To Filter from OCLC FirstSearch databases

1. Mark those references to be saved
2. Click Export.
3. At the next page, choose EndNote and then click Export.
4. EndNote will prompt you to select a filter.

Project Muse To direct-export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "save marked results"
4. Click "email/export saved results"
5. Select the EndNote radio button under "export marked results to:"
6. Click "Export"
Proquest
  • Boston Globe Historical Archive
  • Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • Los Angeles Times Historical Archive
  • New York Times Historical Archive
  • Wall Street Journal (Current and Historical)
  • Washington Post Historical Archive
To direct-export citations

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Select the My Research page tab.
4. Select export directly to into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks or Reference Manager5. Click on the Export directly into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks or Reference Manager link.
6. Open with risfile (default) Click Ok

PubMed Option 1. Connect from within EndNote to Pubmed

Option 2. Text-File Importing From PubMed 

Science Direct To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. Click "display checked docs"
4. Click "export citations"
5. Select "citations" or "citations+abstracts" to export
6. Select "RIS format" as your file format
7. Click "Export"
SciFinder Scholar To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. Mark the citations you wish to export into EndNote
3. From the file menu save the references as a "tagged text" files
4. Open EndNote and from the File menu import, select Import
Web of Science To direct export citations (no connection file or filter needed):

1. Perform your search
2. In the right hand box choose the records you wish to export into EndNote
3. Choose from the drop down menu what fields you want to submit and then click "Export to Reference Software"

OR

5. Click "add to marked list"
6. At the top of the next page choose "marked list"
7. Pick specific fields to be included and then choose "export to reference software"

Tip

Watch a Video from Yale on importing search results from PUbMed to EndNote or scroll down the page for directions on how to filter from many of our other databases

EndNote Logo and Yale Library

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.