American Civil War and Reconstruction: Historical Newspapers

United State (selected list):

African American Newspapers:  The 19th Century
Collection of seven fulltext newspapers written by African-Americans for African-Americans.

• Freedom's Journal, New York, New York, 1827-1829
• Weekly Advocate, New York, New York, 1837-1837
• The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), New York, New York, 1837-1841
• The North Star, Rochester, New York, 1847-1851
• The National Era, Washington, D.C., 1847-1860
• Provincial Freeman, Chatham, Canada West, 1854-1857
• Frederick Douglass' Paper, Rochester, New York, 1851-1855; 1859-1863
• The Christian Recorder, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1861-1902
• African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

American Periodical Series (1741-1900)
A digital collection of over 1,100 rare American periodicals.   The Series covers 118 periodicals published during the Civil War and Reconstruction periods, and reflect on the growing debate over slavery and abolition.  Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom’s Cabin was serialized in National Era.  The Gettysburg battle was covered not only in major journals and magazines, but also in The Maine Farmer, Medical and Surgical Reporter, and the New York Evangelist.

Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1865)
A magazine to “entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.” Fulltext.

HarpWeek 1857 - 1877  
American Civil War and Reconstruction period. A popular nineteenth century periodical, Harper’s Weekly tracks the major political, social and military stories of its day, with editorials, book reviews, literature and advertising.  From a Northern perspective

19th Century Newspapers
Digital archive of newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia, rural and urban areas, for the entire century. Included among these rare nwespapers are many from southern states, as well as Kansas, Illinois, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. Of special note are abolitionist and African American papers.  Also, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper and The Daily Graphic.   

Proquest Historic Newspapers Online:

•       Atlanta Constitution -- 1868-1945
•       Chicago Tribune --  1849-1989
•       New York Times -- 1851-2009
•       Wall Street Journal —1889-1995
•       Washington Post —1877-1996

Other:

• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  from the Library of Congress
• NewspaperCat  Links to over 1,500 full-text historical newspaper titles from the U.S. and Caribbean.
• Periodicals Archive Online: Index to the tables of contents of thousands of humanities and social sciences periodicals, from their first issues (some late 1700s) to the early 1990s, with fulltext of several hundred periodicals.
• World Newspaper Archive  A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Great Britain:

For the British perspective on America, see:

The Times (London) (1788 to 1985)

         Online collection of England's most prominent newspaper.

English Literary Periodicals, Library West, 3rd floor, Microforms Area: AP 3 .E55 

Colonial and Revolutionary Period of America: English Literary Periodicals (c. 1681-1914) National and international news, scientific news, religion, fashion, music, politics, history, and "amusements."  Includes a list of the 233 periodical titles published in Great Britain. 

A collection of 233 titles covering British life and culture, not only literary works.  Contributors and editors include Addison, Defoe, Eliot, Goldsmith, Hunt, Johnson, Lamb, Mill, Tennyson.
969 reels, 5,255 volumes. 

Guides:

        Online:

http://dds.crl.edu/CRLdelivery.asp?tid=17378

        Print    

ACCESS: A cumulative index, Accessing English Literary Periodicals, A Guide to the Microfilm Collection, provides access by title, subject, editor, and reel number.
LIBRARY WEST, Reference       

Z  692 .S5 U56 1981

• Alphabetical Guide to English Literary Periodicals
• Chronological Guide to English Literary Periodicals