Biodeterioration of Concrete by
Awareness of the importance of ensuring durability of concrete has been a growing concern of engineers, and there is now considerable understanding of the mechanisms, which cause its deterioration, and means of limiting such damage through the use of appropriate materials and approaches to design. Many of the deterioration mechanisms, which affect concrete, are the result of interaction with the non-living environment #65533; chlorides in seawater, carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, cyclic freezing and thawing. However, living organisms can also cause damage #65533; through both chemical and physical processes - which under the right conditions, can be severe. This book looks at all forms of concrete biodeterioration together for the first time. It examines, from a fundamental starting point, biodeterioration mechanisms, as well as the conditions which allow living organisms (bacteria, fungi, plants and a range of marine organisms) to colonise concrete. A detailed evaluation of chemical compounds produced by living organisms with respect to their interaction with the mineral constituents of concrete, and the implications it has for the integrity of structures, is also included. Approaches to avoiding biodeterioration of concrete are also covered, including selection of materials, mix proportioning, design, and use of protective systems.
Thermal Elastic Mechanics Problems of Concrete Rectangular Thin Plate by
This book discusses the thermal-elastic mechanics problems of concrete rectangular thin plate. Using theoretical derivation combined with numerical examples, it explains in detail the analytical solution of the deflection, bending moment, thermal vibration and thermal buckling of concrete rectangular thin plate. To facilitate application, the book also includes deflection and bending moment calculation tables of concrete rectangular thin plate with four edges supported and with free boundary conditions.
Concrete Materials and Structures under Projectile Impact by
In this book, the authors present their theoretical, experimental and numerical investigations into concrete structures subjected to projectile and aircraft impacts in recent years. Innovative approaches to analyze the rigid, mass abrasive and eroding projectile penetration and perforation are proposed. Damage and failure analyses of nuclear power plant containments impacted by large commercial aircrafts are numerically and experimentally analyzed. Ultra-high performance concrete materials and structures against the projectile impact are developed and their capacities of resisting projectile impact are evaluated. This book is written for the researchers, engineers and graduate students in the fields of protective structures and terminal ballistics.
Modernisation, Mechanisation and Industrialisation of Concrete Structures by
Modernisation, Mechanisation and Industrialisation of Concrete Structures discusses the manufacture of high quality prefabricated concrete construction components, and how that can be achieved through the application of developments in concrete technology, information modelling and best practice in design and manufacturing techniques.
Calcined Clays for Sustainable Concrete by
This volume focuses on research and practical issues linked to Calcined Clays for Sustainable Concrete. The main subjects are geology of clays, hydration and performance of blended system with calcined clays, alkali activated binders, economic and environmental impacts of the use of calcined clays in cement based materials. Topics addressed in this book include the influence of processing on reactivity of calcined clays, influence of clay mineralogy on reactivity, geology of clay deposits, Portland-calcined clay systems, hydration, durability, performance, Portland-calcined clay-limestone systems, hydration, durability, performance, calcined clay-alkali systems, life cycle analysis, economics and environmental impact of use of calcined clays in cement and concrete and field applications. This book compiles the different contributions of the 1st International Conference on Calcined Clays for Sustainable Concrete, which took place in Lausanne, Switzerland, June, 23-25, 2015.The papers present the latest research in their field. It contains nearly 80 papers and abstracts. Overall, this work gives a broad view of research on calcined clays in the field of construction and will stimulate further research into calcined clays for sustainable concrete.
New Advanced GNSS and 3D Spatial Techniques by
This book provides the latest research on and applications of advanced GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) and 3D spatial techniques in the fields of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Geophysics, Architecture, Archaeology and Cultural Heritage. It offers an updated reference guide on the above-mentioned topics for undergraduate and graduate students, PhDs, researchers, professionals and practitioners alike.
Citizen Empowerment and Innovation in the Data-Rich City by
This book analyzes the ongoing transformation in the "smart city" paradigm and explores the possibilities that technological innovations offer for the effective involvement of ordinary citizens in collective knowledge production and decision-making processes within the context of urban planning and management. To so, it pursues an interdisciplinary approach, with contributions from a range of experts including city managers, public policy makers, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) specialists, and researchers. The first two parts of the book focus on the generation and use of data by citizens, with or without institutional support, and the professional management of data in city governance, highlighting the social connectivity and livability aspects essential to vibrant and healthy urban environments. In turn, the third part presents inspiring case studies that illustrate how data-driven solutions can empower people and improve urban environments, including enhanced sustainability. The book will appeal to all those who are interested in the required transformation in the planning, management, and operations of data-rich cities and the ways in which such cities can employ the latest technologies to use data efficiently, promoting data access, data sharing, and interoperability.
Jute Geotextiles and Their Applications in Civil Engineering by
This book presents a first-of-its-kind exposition on the emerging technology of jute fiber geotextiles. The book covers the characteristics of jute fiber and jute yarns, types and functions of jute geotextiles, and the mechanism of control of surficial soil with jute geotextiles. The content also includes applications such as the mechanisms of functioning of jute geotextiles in strengthening road sub-grade and controlling river bank erosion, stabilization of earthen embankments, management of settlement of railway tracks, and consolidation of soft soil by use of pre-fabricated vertical jute drains (PVJD). Geotextile standards, properties and test methods, variants of jute geotextiles, economical and environmental advantages in different applications are covered along with a few case studies. A chapter on soil basics is included to enable clearer understanding of soil mechanisms. The book can be used as a reference work or as primary or supporting text for graduate and professional coursework. It will also prove useful to researchers and practicing engineers looking for a comprehensive treatise on jute geotextiles.
Floatover Technology and Its Application by
This book discusses offshore platform integration technology, focusing on the floatover methodology and its applications. It also addresses topics related to safety and cost-effectiveness, as well as ensuring the success of a project through careful planning and established detailed operation procedure/working manuals, which are rarely found in the published literature. Unlike other publications in this area, the book not only includes details of technology development, but also presents real project cases in the discussion to make it more comprehensible. Each topic is illustrated with carefully created sketches to show the complex operation procedures.
Design and Construction of Berm Breakwaters by
Modern design of berm breakwaters began about thirty years ago. However, to date, there has been a lack of a well-established, formal design methodology on berm breakwaters. The authors Dr Jentsje van der Meer and Sigurdur Sigurdarson combine over 40 years of collective experience working with breakwaters to put forward a design framework in Design and Construction of Berm Breakwaters; covering the science and design practices of berm breakwater structures. The original design consisted of mass armoured berms that reshaped into statically stable S-shaped slopes. The design was adopted in Iceland and eventually led to a development with more stable structures by using available rock sizes, large rock, and more rock gradings than just 'small rock (core)' and 'large rock (berm)'. This more stable and only partly reshaping structure is called the Icelandic-type berm breakwater.Written for researchers and practitioners, the volume consists of chapters on geometrical designs of the berm breakwater cross-section, including berm reshaping and wave overtopping, quarry and project management, as well as blasting and sorting techniques, designs for various wave conditions and available rock classes, and case studies of already constructed berm breakwaters.
Springer Handbook of Ocean Engineering by
This handbook is the definitive reference for the interdisciplinary field that is ocean engineering. It integrates the coverage of fundamental and applied material and encompasses a diverse spectrum of systems, concepts and operations in the maritime environment, as well as providing a comprehensive update on contemporary, leading-edge ocean technologies. Coverage includes an overview on the fundamentals of ocean science, ocean signals and instrumentation, coastal structures, developments in ocean energy technologies and ocean vehicles and automation. It aims at practitioners in a range of offshore industries and naval establishments as well as academic researchers and graduate students in ocean, coastal, offshore and marine engineering and naval architecture. The Springer Handbook of Ocean Engineering is organized in five parts: Part A: Fundamentals, Part B: Autonomous Ocean Vehicles, Subsystems and Control, Part C: Coastal Design, Part D: Offshore Technologies, Part E: Energy Conversion
Access all UF subscribed content from anywhere by using the VPN.
|
