Skip to main content

Arabic Sources: Print and Reference Resources

Guide to Arabic Resources available for University of Florida Library users

Call Numbers

  • Catalog    Edit or Delete link_1432368  Get Quick Stats
    To access books, please use the catalog

Call number ranges include:

Arabic Language PJ6001-8517

Arabic Literature PJ 7501-8517

History of Arabic Speaking Countries: Asia: DS 36-DS248

History of Arabic Speaking Countries: Africa: DT43-DT346

Indexes and Abstracts

The Middle East, abstracts and index.
Call Number: REF DS41.M44

Middle East contemporary survey. 
Call Number: REF DS62.8.M53

Index Islamicus. 
Call Number: REF Z7835.M6 L612

MLA international bibliography 
Call Number: REF P1.A1 M62

Historical abstracts (Online) 

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts : LLBA. 
Call Number: REF Z7001.L15

Journals

Periodicals located on the 3rd Floor Behind the reference Desk

Middle Eastern literatures. PJ7501.A72

Journal of Arabic literature. PJ7501.J63  

Arabic and Middle Eastern Literatures. PJ7501.A72

Major Reference Works

All Reference books are located in Library West on the west side of the 3rd floor.

Highlighted books are also available electronically

 

al-Mawrid : a modern English-Arabic dictionary REF PJ6640.B341

Arabic literary culture, 500-925 REF PS21.D521 v.311

Dictionary of Moroccan Arabic : Moroccan-English, English-Moroccan REF PJ6766.H3771 1983 

Dictionary of Syrian Arabic : English-ArabicREF PJ6816 .D53 2004

Elias' modern dictionary, English-Arabic REF PJ6640.E421 1977

Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics REF PJ6031.E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Arabic literature REF PJ7510.E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Islam REF DS35.53.C36 2009 

Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa REF DS43.E53 2004

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians REF DS113.6.E53 2000

Index Islamicus (Online)  Edit or Delete Book #214157

Islamic desk reference REF DS35.53.I83 1994 

NTC's Gulf Arabic-English dictionary REF PJ6856 .Q24 1997

Reference grammar of modern standard Arabic REF PJ6303 .R93 2005

 

 

E-Journals

A Chronology of Nineteenth-Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900) A Research Tool

al-Ahram online

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.