Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, Sixth Edition by
The definitive guide to the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine--fully updated with the latest advances in the field Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With 2,000+ photos and illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references, this peerless resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in healthy people and in those with disease. You'll find detailed coverage of the broad array of diseases and disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms, respiratory infections, and respiratory failure. And you'll learn all the latest advances, including molecular development of the lung, stem cells and respiratory disease, genetics of pulmonary disease and the growth of personalized medicine, technical advances in lung transplantation, and many more. Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders provides state-of-the-art coverage of the latest topics in critical care medicine, such as early diagnosis and management of sepsis, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), management of agitation and delirium in the ICU, and the newly defined entity of "chronic critical illness" New to this edition: *State-of-the-art reviews of the literature made available online *Expanded editorial team provides new perspectives *References streamlined to include only the latest information in pulmonary clinical medicine *Table of Contents revised to highlight the most important areas of concern for clinicians
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by
Nunn''s Applied Respiratory Physiology, Eighth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications. This most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will be invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field. Now fully revised and updated, this eighth edition includes a new full-colour format to improve clarity and understanding - and it also comes with access to the complete, downloadable eBook version for the first time. This incorporates bonus chapters, handy topic summaries and new, interactive, self-assessment material. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before. Enhancements to this edition include:? New full colour format - enhances the 250+ diagrams and allows a much clearer portrayal of physiological concepts New figures reflect modern functional imaging techniques - which are now able to generate detailed pictures of lung ventilation and perfusion in humans A new section on the aims, effects and physiological basis of respiratory physiotherapy - to help both physiotherapists and doctors better understand this common intervention for treating patients'' respiratory disease Additional information on the significant impact of obesity'on respiratory physiology in both health and disease New sections on comparative respiratory physiology and respiratory physiology in veterinary practice - understanding respiration in less complex animals and the place of human respiration within the animal kingdom will be of interest to students/practitioners in biology, zoology or veterinary medicine, as well as enlightening in other contexts Bonus eBook access - (printed book) includes access to the complete, fully searchable electronic text, via Expert Consult - incoporating extra chapters, handy chapter summaries and new self-assessment material to aid exam preparation Key features include: The three-part structure of pure physiology (basic principles), applied physiology and physiology of respiratory disease is retained Use of clear, simple diagrams to illustrate the material. Duplication of US and rest-of-the-world units References to recent research material to allow readers to explore topics in more depth New full colour format - enhances the 250+ diagrams and allows a much clearer portrayal of physiological concepts New figures reflect modern functional imaging techniques - which are now able to generate detailed pictures of lung ventilation and perfusion in humans A new section on the aims, effects and physiological basis of respiratory physiotherapy - to help both physiotherapists and doctors better understand this common intervention for treating patients'' respiratory disease Additional information on the significant impact of obesity'on respiratory physiology in both health and disease New sections on comparative respiratory physiology and respiratory physiology in veterinary practice - understanding respiration in less complex animals and the place of human respiration within the animal kingdom will be of interest to students/practitioners in biology, zoology or veterinary medicine, as well as enlightening in other contexts Bonus eBook access - (printed book) includes access to the complete, fully searchable electronic text, via Expert Consult - incorporating extra chapters, handy chapter summaries and new self-assessment material to aid exam preparation
Principles of Critical Care, 4th Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the critically ill patient with guidance from the field's definitive text, A Doody's Core Title for 2019! "...Clearly the finest textbook available in the field." -- Critical Care Medicine journal "...Very well done...unusually user-friendly...excellent...a significant contribution to the field. It should be placed not only in the critical care practitioner's library, but also in the rounds and nurses' conference rooms of critical care units." -- Journal of the American Medical Association Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies. The fourth edition is highlighted by: A new full-color presentation NEW CHAPTERS on ICU Ultrasound, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, ICU-Acquired Weakness, Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, and Judging the Adequacy of Intravascular Volume The addition of many new figures and diagnostic and treatment algorithms In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient's specific condition The integration of pathophysiology throughout the text Content that reflects today's interdisciplinary approach to critical care medicine *Reviews are of previous editions
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine by
Ideal for fellows and practicing pulmonologists who need an authoritative, comprehensive reference on all aspects of pulmonary medicine, Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine offers the most definitive content on basic science, diagnosis, evaluation and treatment of the full spectrum of respiratory diseases. Included with your print purchase is the Expert Consult eBook version, which offers content updates, videos, review questions, and Thoracic Imaging Cases (TICs), all of which are easily navigable on any device for access on rounds or in the clinic. The embedded videos cover thoracoscopy, therapeutic bronchoscopy, volumetric chest CT scans, and more, while brand-new audio files highlight normal and abnormal breath sounds and the separate components of cough. Full-color design enhances teaching points and highlights challenging concepts. Understand clinical applications and the scientific principles of respiratory medicine. Detailed explanations of each disease entity allow you to work through differential diagnoses. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience offers content updates, videos, review questions, and Thoracic Imaging Cases (TICs), all of which are easily navigable on any device for access on rounds or in the clinic. Includes more than 1,000 figures and over 200 videos and audio files. Key Points and Key Reading sections highlight the most useful references and resources for each chapter. An expanded sleep section now covers four chapters and includes control of breathing, consequences of sleep disruption, as well as obstructive and central apnea. New chapters in the Critical Care section cover Noninvasive Ventilation (NIV) and Extracorporeal Support of Gas Exchange (ECMO). New chapters focusing on diagnostic techniques now include Invasive Diagnostic Imaging and Image-Guided Interventions and Positron Emission Tomography, and a new chapter on Therapeutic Bronchoscopy highlights the interventional role of pulmonologists. Embedded videos feature thoracoscopy, therapeutic bronchoscopy, volumetric chest CT scans, and more. Brand-new audio files highlight normal and abnormal breath sounds and the separate components of cough.
Pulmonary Physiology, Tenth Edition by
Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Lange's Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology--one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
This library research guide is designed to help you find the materials you need related to your study of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine. It includes resources available through the Health Science Center Libraries and other reputable resources available online.
The tabs above provide links to different types of resources available to help you fill your information needs. Feel free to contact me (nortonh@ufl.edu) if you need any other help. Thanks for visiting!
Search the library catalog to find books, journals, audiovisual materials, government publications, and many other kinds of resources available across UF's libraries.
Know of a great resource that is not on this list? Let me know by leaving a comment or sending me an email (nortonh@ufl.edu).
If you want to suggest the library purchase a book, journal, or other resource, use this form to Request an Addition to the Collection.
|
