Skip to main content

FLORIDA HISTORY RESOURCES: AMH 3421 Florida to 1845

Subject Guide

James Cusick's picture
James Cusick
Contact:
George A. Smathers Library

352-273-2778

Special Collections Hours

Hours of Operation for Special Collections

Monday to Thursday:  Opens at 9 a.m. and closes at 6 p.m.

Friday:  Opens at 9 a.m. and closes as 5 p.m.

Weekends:  CLOSED (No Access)

ARCHIVES ASSIGNMENT

Please select one of the following readings.  They will be held in folders behind the desk of the rare books and manuscript room, Special Collections, second floor of George A. Smathers Library (East).  Sign in at the desk and request a folder. The links give you additional information about the collections.

Instructions

Assignment Due Date:  Please check you syllabus

Choose one of the readings and write a five-page paper identifying the theme that emerges from it.

* What events unfold from the reading?

* How do the social relationships described in the reading evolve?

* What implications do they have for larger events in American history?

* What implications do they have for the relationship between the U.S. and foreign countries?

You may have to incorporate additional research to flesh out the larger context and to identify biographical figures in the readings. Ensure that you cite any sources--including the readings--from which you quote.

Remember that your grade will be based in part on your compliance with the rules in the "Writing Mechanics" exercise.

Research Behavior in Special Collections

When working in Special Collections:

  • Do not bring food or drink into the reading room.
  • Sign in at the desk. Lock up all knapsacks in the lockers provided.
  • When working with loose papers, put materials back in the correct folder and keep the pages in order.
  • Avoid marking materials with ink, sticky notes, etc.  Use laptops and pencils for research.
  • Ask permission from the desk monitor before copying or scanning materials.
  • There are flatbed scanners in the room, and a camera stand for taking digital photos.
  • The desk monitor and the archivists in Special Collections are there to provide help.  Ask for their assistance if you need it.

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.