Did you know you could access most of the e-journals we subscribe to, from your mobile device? Here is a comprehensive list of the wirelessly-accessible resources and their web-based or downloadable Apps. If you are accessing this on an off-campus network, make sure you are connected to UF's VPN in order to receive a full and hiccup-free service. Enjoy!
AccessMyLibrary College Edition App by Gale
Access your library — even when you're not on campus! It's as simple as using the AccessMyLibrary College Edition mobile app from Gale, a world leading publisher of reference information. After a simple, one-time log-in using your GatorLink username & password, the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to reputable, authoritative Gale online resources, subscribed to by UF Libraries — anytime, anywhere!
Download the iOS version
Download the Android version
ACS Mobile provides readers with a searchable, multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content (Articles ASAP) published across the Society's preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals, including the flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society.
Download the iOS version
Download the Android version
The ARTstor Mobile web-based app can be accessed from the following devices and software: IPhone 2.2.1+, IPod 2.2.1+, IPad, IPad 21, Safari 5+, Firefox 5+
A free app is now available for Android-powered devices! Please note that ARTstor mobile app for Androids is currently in Beta. Download the Android App
If you access BiOne from a supported mobile device and browser, you will be automatically directed to the mobile site.You can also pair your mobile device to have access to all UF subscribed resources. You will need your desktop for pairing.
BrowZine is here to make browsing easier!
Use BrowZine on your iPads to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from UF Library subscriptions or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines. Android support coming soon!
Cambridge Journals Online Mobile
The latest functionality release from Cambridge Journals Online features a 'Send to Kindle' button, plus the facility to twin a mobile device with CJO Mobile to access subscriptions from any location.
Access CJO Mobile
Ebrary by ProQuest
Search, read, and download ebrary e-books that UF acquires from leading publishers as well as materials uploaded and integrated by UF librarians. Features include Online and offline reading, Simple and advanced search, Early check-in of ebrary's e-books, Copy and paste with automatic citation, Supports English and Spanish.
EBSCO goes mobile!
All Smartphones and tablets are now auto-detected and automatically directed to the new EBSCOhost MobileAccess website, with the exception of iPads, which are directed to the full desktop version of EBSCOhost.
Elsevier's SciVerse ScienceDirect
SciVerse ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Please note the SciVerse ScienceDirect app is available to institutional subscribers only.
The iPhone version
The Android version
IEEE Xplore Mobile gives users the ability to conveniently perform searches of over two million technical documents with any mobile device connected to the Internet.
IOPscience express for iPhone and iPad
IOPscience express allows you to view and download the latest papers to appear in IOP-owned journals. You can also search for articles published by IOP over the last two years, and email information about selected articles to yourself or a colleague to enable access to the article from a desktop computer.
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy (JRSE)
The JRSE website is now optimized for display on most mobile devices. The site redirects automatically for the following devices and operating systems (browsers may vary by device): Android (Google), Blackberry, iPhone (Safari), iPod Touch (Safari), Palm (WebOS), devices running Opera Mini/ Opera Mobile, Nokia SmartPhones, Sidekick, the Skyfire mobile browser, and devices running Symbian and Windows CE.
JSTOR now has a Mobile beta website that allows you to search for and discover articles from your mobile device. It helps you find articles and then email the citation to yourself so you can view the full article later from a computer. If you would like to view the articles on your mobile device, it does also have a zoom feature that allows you to zoom into specific pages if you are on an authenticated network address.
Springer iPhone/iPad Free App
Leading scientific publisher, Springer, recently launched the SpringerLink mobile app for iPhone and iPod Touch. It is free to download from the iTunes App Store providing access to over 5.4 million documents spanning every area of science, technology and medicine which includes over 127,000 open access research articles.
Taylor and Francis Mobile!
Whether you are looking for a specific article or simply interested in the latest research within your subject area, this user-friendly web-based mobile application enables you to quickly and easily explore Taylor & Francis Online. Works on Android, Blackberry and I-Phone!
Pair your mobile device to enable instant access to UF's library collection with this simple ‘how-to’ video guide.
Following is a list of some other cool apps that are available for free and provide links to thousands of Open Access material!
arXiv mobile is science on your phone! Browse daily science articles or search the entire arXiv collection. This is a must have app for every scientist and physicist. You can read PDFs, save them for later reading and share articles via email/twitter etc.
Connexions, http://cnx.org, is an open source project and is affiliated with Rice University. It is a place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, etc. Anyone may view or contribute!
Access the mobile site from your mobile device
Download app for Android
Download app for Apple iOS
Britannica Mobile Edition is the specifically optimized site for the mobile phones.
iResearch by American Institute of Physics
iResearch is an offline e-reader that enables users to save PDF files locally to their device and view them offline without a Wifi or cellular connection.
Download the app (for iOS only)
NatureJournals App for iPad
Keep up to date with the latest scientific research and news from Nature Publishing Group. Free, unrestricted access to: Nature’s news content, Scientific Reports and open access articles.
PubMed for Handhelds
PubMed, the world's largest medical library, is now available for your mobile devices.
iSSRN by Social Science Research Network (only for iOS)
iSSRN is a must have for anyone interested in the social sciences and humanities. Acess to over 260,000 research papers in their electronic library which covers a wide range of subjects- Accounting, Classics, Economics, Entrepreneurship, etc.
More on their App Download site
Virt U: The Virtual University
Watch open lectures from leading universities such as MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, and Stanford right on your phone. Post your questions and reflections to the VirtU forum from your phone. Search Wikipedia or view relevant course documents and take notes without interrupting the lecture video.
Download app for Android
Download app for iOS
Who doesn't use Wikipedia? This official Wikipedia App is a must for all!
Wikipedia App for Android
Wikipedia App for iOS
Looking for libraries or bookstores in your vicinity? Well, this is one awesome app for book-lovers! A database of more than 80,000 bookstores and libraries around the world. If you know of one that’s not in there, go ahead and add it . Download this app from iTunes and you will never again be lost searching for a place of books!