Skip to main content

University of Florida Newspaper Guide: Ethnic Newspaper Collections

Provides information on newspapers available via the University of Florida Libraries.

Confused?

Try the UF Libraries Ask a Librarian Service.

Current Ethnic/Alternative Newspaper Collections

Alternative Press Index (1991-current): A comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information with international and interdisciplinary coverage.
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.

Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990): Backfile for Alternative Press Index.

Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest): A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing.

Historical Ethnic Newspaper Collections (Electronic)

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998: Enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century:

This collection of African-American Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. The featured newspapers also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Starting with the Freedom`s Journal in 1827 and continuing in chronological order, this database will ultimately contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Featured newspapers include: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder.

Chicago Defender (1905-1975): 

The Defender was founded in May 1905 as a weekly newspaper published on Saturdays. A daily edition, published four days a week from Monday to Thursday, was introduced in February 1956. Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.

Ethnic Newspapers Available from the Center for Research Libraries (Microfilm)

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as Michigan State University) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries online catalog.  Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps.  Here is a brief list of some of the featured collections:

The African-American Press Collection. From the Christian recorder, published in Philadelphia in the 1850s, to the Chicago Defender, still very much alive, the African-American press has provided first person coverage of the concerns, interests and achievements of African-Americans throughout the United States. The Center has a “critical mass” of over two hundred titles.

Black newspapers. In 1965, the Center began subscribing to about 20 papers intended primarily for Black communities in major U.S. cities. The Center has retrospective holdings of some Black newspapers and maintains current subscriptions to either newsprint or microfilm editions of the following titles (listed under their current titles):

State
City
Publication
Alabama Birmingham Birmingham world (#2258369)
California Los Angeles Los Angeles sentinel (#9505770)
Florida Jacksonville Florida star (#2261130)
Illinois Chicago Muslim journal (#12063707)
Indiana Indianapolis Indianapolis recorder (#8797400)
Louisiana Shreveport Shreveport sun (#20606995)
Maryland Baltimore Afro-American (#7642696)
Massachusetts Roxbury Bay state banner (#6749070)
Michigan Detroit Michigan chronicle (#2264134)
Missouri Kansas City Call (#16736831)
New York New York New York Amsterdam news (#13416782)
North Carolina Durham Carolina times (#2259007)
Ohio Cleveland Call and post (#9964681)
Pennsylvania Philadelphia Philadelphia tribune (#2266077)
Tennessee Memphis Tri-state defender (#9578018)
Virginia Norfolk Journal and guide (#6836057)

 


 

Ethnic Press Database. Thousands of volumes of newspapers were produced in the U.S. by ethnic communities from the Civil War to the late 20th century. The papers mirror the lives, values and everyday concerns of America’s various immigrant communities, from the Chinese- and Polish-Americans of 19th Century Chicago to more recently established communities of immigrants from Southeast Asia and the Middle East.

The Center has retrospective holdings of hundreds of ethnic titles and maintains current subscriptions to either newsprint or microfilm editions of the following newspapers (listed under their current titles):

Ethnicity
Publication
Armenian Hayrenik (Boston) (#8761016)
Carpatho-Russian Truth (Philadelphia) (#27328014)
Chinese Mei-chou Hua mei jih pao (New York) (#8925180)
Hua chiao jih pao (New York) ) (#13925369)
Lien ho jih pao (New York) (#9926281)
Czech Hlas naroda (Chicago) (#9578031)
Nedelni hlasatel (Chicago) (#39392562)
Novy svet (Cleveland) (#9522838)
Danish Danske pioneer (Elmwood Park, IL) (#9665848)
Finnish New Yorkin uutiset (#9335208)
Flemish Gazette van Detroit (#9353749)
French France-Amerique (New York) (#3927122)
German Abendpost und Milwaukee deutsche Zeitung (Chicago) (#9642195)
Amerika Woche (Skokie, IL) (#9328374)
Aufbau (New York) (#2251108)
New Yorker Staats-Zeitung (#25450500)
Greek Hellenikos typos (Chicago) (#9425497)
Ethnikos kerux (New York) (#6836811)
Hungarian Amerikai Magyar nepszava (Cleveland) (#2257472)
Szabadsag (Cleveland) (#2268340)
Italian Italian tribune (Warren, MI) (#9836411)
Post gazette (Boston) (#9529221)
Japanese Nichibei jiji (San Francisco)
Lithuanian Draugas (Chicago) (#9426502)
Naujienos (Chicago) (#9273424)
Sandara (Chicago) (#9493846)
Norwegian Norway times (Brooklyn) (#10802915)
Western Viking (Seattle) (#9665786)
Polish Dziennik zwiazkowy (Chicago) (#9357895)
Portuguese Jornal Portugues (Alameda) (#5686672)
Russian Novoe russkoe slovo (New York) (#2265277)
Serbo-Croatian Hrvatski Tjednik Danica (Chicago)
Slovak Bratstvo (Wilkes-Barre, PA) (#10443362)
Jednota (Cleveland) (#1695479)
Narodne Noviny (Pittsburgh) (#2264538)
Slovenian Ameriska domovina (Cleveland) (#4409084)
Prosveta (Chicago) (#9509957)
Swedish California Veckoblad (Los Angeles) (#9304061)
Norden (Brooklyn) (#9473030)
Nordstjernan (New York) (#24728237)
Svenska Amerikaneren tribunen (Chicago) (#9642253)
New Vestkusten (San Francisco) (#29513598)
Ukrainian Ameryka (Philadelphia) (#7120828)
Svoboda (Jersey City, NJ) (#1766932)
Narodna volia (Scranton) (#2264535)
Welsh Drych a'r Columbia (De Pere, WI) (#14404267)
Yiddish Forverts (New York) (#9836450)

Subject Guide

Patrick Reakes's picture
Patrick Reakes
Contact:
529 Library West

(352) 273-2505
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.