Skip to main content

University of Florida Newspaper Guide: Foreign Newspaper Collections

Provides information on newspapers available via the University of Florida Libraries.

Confused?

Try the UF Libraries Ask a Librarian Service.

Current Foreign Newspaper Electronic Collections

Access World News (Newsbank): A comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers. Provides hundreds of full text news sources from Europe/UK, Australia/Oceania, South America, Middle East, Asia and Africa. Simple map-based interface for drilling down into individual country resources. 

Factiva: Provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers and other news resources from around the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s.

LexisNexis Academic: Provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Sub-files include non-English language news, non-U.S. newspapers and wire services and major world publications, among others. Note: A new Lexis Nexis Academic Beta search engine is under development; campus users may want to try it out. 

Historical Foreign Newspaper Electronic Collections

Belgian Newspapers Online: A digital collection of Belgian newspapers collected from federal centers eventually covering over 30 titles and spanning the period from 1831 to 1955.

Caribbean Digital Newspaper Library: A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

 Trove: Australian Newspapers (1803-1954): This is a free online service that enables full-text searching of newspaper articles. The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s. The first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service. By 2011 the service will comprise 40 million searchable articles.

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985): Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers, administered by CRL, is "a coordinated multi-institutional effort to increase the availability of international newspaper collections by improving both bibliographic and physical access to global newspaper collections." Their searchable database provides over 25,000 records pertaining to global newspapers and holding libraries, and includes "bibliographic descriptions of titles as well as specific information on institutions’ holdings of the same. The database serves as a central locus for information on international newspaper collections available in North American libraries and in selected libraries outside North America."

Foreign Newspaper Digitization Projects: An excellent list of foreign newspaper digitization projects, both free and pay for access, provided by ICON.

Additional foreign newspaper research reference guides made available by ICON are available here.

Foreign Newspaper Web Links

The following web portals allow one to select foreign newspapers:

ABYZ News Links:  A portal to online news sources from around the world. It is primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. Please note that ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources. There are three main criteria for inclusion of a news source on this site. Firstly, the source must have actual news content. Secondly, it must be reasonably professional in nature. Thirdly, it should have fairly recently updated content.

HeadlineSpot.com:  A portal that pulls together leading online newspapers and much more.

Kidon Media Link: Here you can find links to 19,740 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world. The newspapers are arranged according to countries in each continents.  You can also search by language.

News and Newspapers Online:  An award winning collection of newspapers and news sources from around the world, all free, compiled by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Newseum:  Provides 807 front pages from 73 countries. The Newseum displays these daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form. Some front pages may contain material that is objectionable to some visitors. Viewer discretion is advised.

Newslinks: Maintains links to 8,000 "newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide."

Newspapers.ComA portal to the world's newspapers.

NewsVoyager: a web link service of the Newspaper Association of America. Newspapers can be searched by the following categories: U.S. Dailies, Weeklies, Canadian, International, College Papers, Newspaper Archives, Newspaper Groups, Associations, and by state.

Foreign Newspapers from the Center for Research Libraries

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as University of Florida) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through Interlibrary Loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog.  Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps.  Here is a brief list of some of the featured collections:


Foreign newspapers. The Center holds over 6,100 foreign newspaper titles in original format and in microform, including many long runs of important titles. Most of the titles are cataloged, and records for the newspapers appear in the Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog.

The Center subscribes to more than 245 foreign newspapers and periodically issues a list of its currently-received titles.

Center for Research Libraries: African Newspapers:  Part of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 40 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and other locales.

Center for Research Libraries: Latin American Newspapers: The first phase of the World Newspaper Archive features more than 35 historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.

.

Subject Guide

Patrick Reakes's picture
Patrick Reakes
Contact:
529 Library West

(352) 273-2505
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.