Jewish Studies: Reference Works

Juedischer Almanach, Berlin, 1902 (illustrated by E. M. Lilien). The book is available for consultation in the Special and Area Studies Collections Department. It is also available on microfilm.

The Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe is also available online

• Encyclopedia Judaica  - comprehensive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to modern times
• Gnazim - Archive of Jewish Writers: the largest Hebrew literature archive in the world with over 750 archival collections of writers, poets, essayists and playwrights from the late 19th century to present day.
• JewishEncyclopedia.com - the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia (originally published between 1901-1906) containing 15,000 articles and illustrations
• Ma’agarim -- Historical Dictionary of the Hebrew Language - the Historical Dictionary Project (HDP) aims to encompass the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history from its first appearance in written texts to the present
• Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
• Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
• Encyclopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel
• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 
• Encyclopedia of Jewish Values
• Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
• Encyclopedia of American Jewish History

The Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon : The current web site is a tool for scholarly research. It presumes that users are already familiar with the materials they are researching, and should not be misinterpreted as being a complete lexicon at this stage.