Skip to main content

ASERL Documents Disposition Database: Signing On

A short guide to using this tool

The Link

The database may be accessed through the following link: http://apps.uflib.ufl.edu/GovDocs

Authentication

Signing on to the ASERL Documents Disposition Database requires that you first have a Google account.  The database uses a Google OpenID session to identify the user and present the user's customized view.  No email will be sent to this account unless the account is specified later as your institution's contact email.  A Gmail address may be used for your Google account, or you may create a Google account linked to another email address using https://accounts.google.com/NewAccount.

Once one or more Google accounts have been created, the Documents Coordinator at your institution must send a list of these accounts to the Government Documents staff at the University of Florida (dispositiondb@uflib.ufl.edu).

When your Google account has been associated with your institution, the system will allow you to continue to the main screen.  There you can search the current offerings or upload your own institution's offerings for others to view.  In addition, if you are a registered user of the ASERL COE Gap database, you will see a link to that database on the right-hand side of the page (just beneath the log off link).  There is no interaction between the ASERL COE database and the Disposition database - since they both use the same authentication process, the link just allows for access to the two resources from a single login.

If you are unable to authenticate, follow Google's procedures for reseting your password.  If you have successfully authenticated, but the Disposition Database application tells you that you have not been registered, check the Google ID that is currently logged on.  Only one Google ID may be logged in at any time.  You may need to go to www.google.com and log out of one Google ID in order to log in using the Google ID you previously registered with the ASERL Disposition Database.

Your Contact Email

When your institution accesses the system for the first time you will be prompted to enter a contact email address.  This email address will be used for sending you claim receipts and notifying you of Needs List matches.  A claim receipt is generated when you claim one or more offered items, or when another institution claims an item you have listed.  This email address does not have to be a gmail account.  You may wish for these emails to go to an individual or to a departmental mailbox.  Only one email address may be supplied, but you may change it at any time.

If your institution is a Regional depository, this email address will also be used to notify you of offers submitted by Selectives in your region.  These emails are generated shortly after midnight and list the items offered by your Selectives during the previous day.

*IMPORTANT* Some email systems might view this email content as spam. If you notice that this is happening to you, contact your email administrator for instructions on how to add DistributionNotifications@uflib.ufl.edu to your "safe senders" list.

Other Contact Information

All other contact information (street address, city, state, phone, etc) is pulled from your institution's record in the Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD) database.  A copy of that information will be pulled monthly and will be used to update our records.  If you notice a problem with any of these fields, please update your institution's entry in the FDLD database.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.