Skip to main content

NIH Public Access Policy and Manuscript Submission: Using My NCBI (My Bibliography)

More Useful Information

VIDEO: How to Use MyBibliography

Delegating Authority

You have the option of allowing another person or persons (delegates) to help manage your compliance reporting in MyBibliography. Delegates can add and remove citations, and check whether a manuscript is complaint with the NIH Public Access Policy.

To grant access to your account to a delegate:

  • Click on "settings" next to the "My bibliography is public/private" statement on the top of the MyBibliography section of the MyNCBI home page.
  • Under "Delegates" select "Add a Delegate"
  • Enter that person's email
  • Note that this person must have their own MyNCBI Account to serve as your delegate, and the email you provide must be the one associated with their account
  • That person will receive an email with a link to confirm their delegate status
    • They will have to login to their own account
    • They will see the option to confirm or decline the connection

You may add or delete delegates as you choose, using the "settings" link.

Also note that you also have the option under "settings" to make your MyBibliography citations list public or private. If you choose to make it public, the system will automatically provide you with a direct URL and with text you can embed in a website. This will allow anyone to view - but NOT alter - your citations list.

 

Contact Us

For any additional questions on the NIH Public Access Policy, manuscript submission, or PMCIDs, contact your liaison librarian.

Health Science Center Library

Borland Library (Jacksonville)

Marston Science Library

Setting up your MyNCBI Account

How to create a MyNCBI account to access your My Bibliography:

  1. From any NCBI webpage, including PubMed, click on "Sign in to NCBI" on the top right corner.
  2. Click on the "NIH Login" button. Ignore the other options - it is important that your NCBI account is linked to your eRA Commons account
  3. Use your eRA Commons username and password to log in.
  4. The first time you do this, you will see an intervening page with two options for linking accounts. Select the "By Email" option instead of the default option. This is important and will solve problems later.
  5. The system will return you to your starting NCBI webpage - click on the "My NCBI link in the top right corner.

Once you have a MyNCBI account, when you login to it, you will see your username and "My NCBI" as links on the top right corner of any NCBI webpage. Click on "My NCBI" to see your home page which will include your recent search history, any saved searches or results collections from NCBI databases, and the MyBibliography section.

To request an eRA account at UF, use the request form at: http://apps.research.ufl.edu/research/nihera/register.cfm.   

Adding Articles to MyBibliography

To add a citation to MyBibliography:

  • For citations in PubMed:  Search PubMed directly.
    • If you have several to add, search PubMed by author. For example, to find articles by John D. Smith, search with Smith JD[au]. You may need to weed through the results and try with and without the middle initial, depending on how common the name is and whether articles have been published under different name versions.
    • Once you've selected your articles in PubMed, click on "send to" and select "MyBibliography."
    • You will need to be logged in to MyNCBI before you do this.
  • For citations NOT in PubMed:  Go to "MyNCBI," locate the "MyBibliography" section, and click on "Manage MyBibliography."
    • Click on "Add Citation"
    • Choose the type of citation to create from the dropdown menu.
    • Follow directions
    • Note that one option will take you to PubMed so that you can search for articles in PubMed as described above.

Animation: Adding Citations to MyBibliography

Also, if someone else has linked a citation in their MyBibliography to one of your grant awards in eRA Commons, you will see a notification message that the citation has been added to your MyBibliography. The addition of citations linked to your funding is done automatically by the system. You can review the new citations and keep or delete them as you wish. The notification message can be removed by clicking on the small "x" on its right side.

Compliance View in MyBibliography

To view and manage the compliance status of your citations in MyBibliography:

  • From MyNCBI, locate "MyBibliography" and click on the "Manage My Bibliography" link
  • Click on "Display Settings"
  • Select View: "Award" and Sort By: "Public Access Compliance" then click "Apply"

Public Access Compliance

  • Note that the compliance status for each citation is indicated by a colored dot/symbol as well as text.
    • Green Dot = in compliance with the Public Access Policy; article is in PubMedCentral and has a PMCID
    • Yellow Dot = in process for compliance for the Policy: has a NIHMS ID or is published in a journal that will submit it directly.
    • Red Dot = NOT in compliance
    • "?" = Compliance status unknown; author needs to specify
    • "N/A" = Compliance is not applicable (it meets exclusion criteria for compliance)
  • Status for all citations can be changed either by clicking on the symbol or on the "edit status" link
  • For citations out-of-compliance (Red) or with unknown status ("?"), click on the symbol or the "edit status" link
    • Answer Yes or No for whether the citation is associated with an NIH-funded project
    • If the answer is Yes, then options to either begin NIH Manuscript Submission, indicate in process (yellow) status or indicate exemptions for "N/A" status
    • Make appropriate selections (more information available in other sections of this guide)
    • While selecting "Begin submission in the NIHMS" will take you to that system directly, you can also do that separately and then return to enter the NIHMS ID number here later.

 

Managing Citation-to-Award Links

To view associations between NIH funding Awards and your citations in MyBibliography:

  • From MyNCBI, locate "MyBibliography" and click on the "Manage My Bibliography" link
  • Click on "Display Settings"
  • Select View: "Award" and Sort By: "Public Access Compliance" then click "Apply"

To associate NIH funding Awards with your citations in MyBibliography:

  • If no awards have been associated with the citation, it will state "NIH Funding: No funding has been associated with this citation."
  • If an award has already been associated the citation, it will be displayed
  • To add an award, click on "Add Award"
    • To delete an award, click on "Add or Delete Award"
  • To add awards to multiple citations simultaneously, click the check boxes by each of the citations and then click on "Assign Awards to Citations" at the top of the list
  • On the "Assign Awards" Pop-up Box, clicking on "Awards" will show a list of the awards associated with your eRA Commons profile under "My Awards." Select the appropriate award(s) to add to the citation and then click "Save."
  • There is also a list of other awards that you can select from; this displays those awards that are not associated with your eRA Commons profile, but have been linked to citations in your My Bibliography collection. You can select from these as well.
  • If you need to find another award, use the "Search/Add other Awards" Tab to locate other awards. You can search for awards using a grant number, award title or grantee name. 
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.