Guides @ UF: UF Libraries Guide for New Graduate Students: Find Information

IMPORTANT: Connecting from Off-Campus

To access databases and online journals from off-campus, you must first log into the proxy server or the Virtual Private Network (VPN). The VPN is recommended as it provides the smoothest access.

Theses & Dissertations

Click here to seach for theses & dissertations at UF and at other institutions.

Videos

UF Libraries has a large collection of videos on DVD, VHS, and online. Search the catalog to find a mixture of Hollywood films, documentaries, instructional videos, and more! Most videos check out for 7 days.

Search here for our videos available to stream online: https://uflib.ufl.edu/find/video/

UF Digital Collections

Search over 7 million pages of unique manuscripts and letters, antique maps, rare children's literature books, theses and dissertations, newspapers, historic photographs, oral histories, and more!

More Great Research Guides!

Open Access
by Stephanie Chancy Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 787 views this year
Responsible Conduct of STEM Research
by Terry Selfe Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 254 views this year
Patents and Trademarks
by Amy Buhler Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 665 views this year
Research Metrics: Measuring the Influence and Impact of Research
by Tara Cataldo - UF Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 3390 views this year
Copyright on Campus
by Stephanie Chancy Last Updated Jan 30, 2024 3115 views this year
Citation Management
by Marston Science Library Last Updated Jan 30, 2024 881 views this year

Databases: Project Starters

UF Libraries subscribe to thousands of databases. Not sure where to start? The following databases contain scholarly material in a variety of subject areas.

Databases A-Z
See the full list of thousands of UF Libraries databases, organized by title.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Search more than 8,500 journals for articles in a variety of disciplines. A Sociological Collection is included. Some full text is available. Coverage dates vary.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Short for Journal Storage, JSTOR is an archive of academic journals. Issues older than 3-5 years are available in full text. You can search journals in many disciplines, including sociology, psychology, population studies, and more.
MEDLINE (Web of Science ) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of medicine, including psychiatry. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals. Some full text available. Coverage: 1965 to date
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science contains three databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). SSCI indexes nearly 2,000 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. Some full text is available. Coverage dates for SSCI: 1956-current.

Click the image to begin!

Need that perfect stat for your lecture or research paper?

Use Statista to access quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

You can download graphs as JPGs, PowerPoints, embed them in web pages and download data into Excel.

Data Sources: Florida

EDR Population & Demographics
From the Office of Economic and Demographic Research of the Florida Legislature. Includes population overviews, census data, and poverty guidelines.
Florida Statistical Abstract
NOW ONLINE! Created by the Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR) at UF. Find data on Florida and its cities and counties in the areas of population, housing, employment, income, education, health, tourism, elections, and more. Data is available from 1967-present.
Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR)
BEBR collects, analyzes and generates economic and demographic data on Florida and its local areas. Find free online reports from 1979-present on Florida-related topics (ex. price level index, migration flows, disability perceptions, etc.)

Data Sources: Project Starters

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
UF is a member institution and provides access to a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
The Dataverse Project
An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore and analyze research data from multiple sources. A collaboration with Harvard Library, Harvard University IT, and IQSS.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Provides information about populations worldwide with data sheets, a graphics bank, and more. The "core themes" are: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Available through UF Libraries. Books, journals, working papers, and more are available on topics such as the general economy, statistics, and agriculture.

Is it peer reviewed/refereed?

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, book reviews, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.