Create your own personal database by importing references from online databases:
* Use these references in writing papers
* Automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds
* Create multiple accounts, accessible from anywhere
* Quickly access the full-text, when available
RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management tool that the UF Libraries have licensed for students and faculty to use, free of charge. To use it, you must register for an account using your Gatorlink username and password.
RefWorks allows you to manually enter citations as well as import them from article databases. You can select from a variety of predefined citation styles as well as create your own. You can also format bibliographies and output citation lists in BibTeX, HTML, Word, or Open Office format. Finally you can use RefWorks to add in-text citations either while you write your document, or after you have completed it.
More in Tutorials.
Find search engines or databases for your discipline through the library subject guides. Ask your subject librarian to suggest other databases or to show tips and tricks for getting the most from each database.
Filter or refine your search. Make sure you gather all relevant articles, not just a few good ones.
Keep searching throughout your project, as you identify more keywords or researchers to track.
Read each paper before you cite it. Check to ensure that any citable papers have not been corrected or retracted.
Track every article you find or read
Use a citation manager tool such as RefWorks, EndNote Web, or Zotero to store the citations to all the articles you find. Later, you can print out your bibliography in any citation style that you need.
Where possible, store your notes and comments about articles directly in your citation manager. Then you will always know the article or source that your info came from. If your notes won't fit in the software, store them elsewhere but mark each note with the corresponding entry in your citation manager.
Use Google Scholar instead of Google! It indexes core society and commercial journals, sci-tech reports, and some academic websites.
In Google Scholar, link to UF's subscribed journals through Findit@UF. Click on "Scholar Preferences" and, in the Library Links area, type University of Florida and select "University of Florida (Find it@UF)". If you are on campus or using the VPN or library proxy you will get links from Scholar into the full text of library-subscribed journals. This preference is set for the browser software on that computer.
Use Advanced Seach for more power and control.