Skip to main content

Lincoln and the Constitution Exhibit - Feb 1 - Mar 7, 2012: Library Resources

In recognition of the Sesquicentennial of the Civil War (2011), the 150th anniversary of Lincoln’s election (2010), and the 200th anniversary of his birthday (2009), this exhibit highlights the dangers and controversies that confronted the president.

Library Guides of Interest

Web Resources

Abraham Lincoln: A Resource Guide http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/presidents/lincoln

Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War Blog

Abraham Lincoln Online http://showcase.netins.net/web/creative/lincoln.html

American President: An Online Reference Resource http://millercenter.org/president/lincoln

The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln http://quod.lib.umich.edu/l/lincoln/

Lincolniana at Brown University http://dl.lib.brown.edu/lincoln

Mr. Lincoln's White House http://www.mrlincolnswhitehouse.org/

National Constitution Center http://constitutioncenter.org/

Official Site of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum http://www.alplm.org

Historical Newspapers Online

American Periodical Series (1741-1900):   A collection of over 1,100 American periodicals.  Facsimile pages.

World Newspaper Archive  A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Proquest Historic Newspapers Online:
New York Times  (Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2001)
Wall Street Journal  (July 8, 1889-Dec 31, 1987)
Washington Post  (Dec 12, 1877-Dec 31, 1988)
Christian Science Monitor  (Nov 25, 1908-Dec 31, 1991)

Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Centenary Archive (1902-1990): London Times reviews, letters, poems and articles.

19th Century Newspapers: Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.

Periodicals Archive Online : Index to the tables of contents of thousands of humanities and social sciences periodicals, from their first issues (some late 1700s) to the early 1990s, and fulltext of several hundred periodicals.
 
HarpWeek 1857 - 1877.  (American Civil War and Reconstruction period): A popular nineteenth century periodical, Harper’s Weekly tracks the major political, social and military stories of its day, with editorials, book reviews, literature and advertising.
 
African American Newspapers:  The 19th Century
Collection of seven fulltext newspapers written by African-Americans for African-Americans.
Freedom's Journal, New York, New York, 1827-1829
The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), New York, New York, 1837-1841
The North Star, Rochester, New York, 1847-1851
The National Era, Washington, D.C., 1847-1860 (Currently completed through December 1853)
Provincial Freeman, Chatham, Canada West, 1854-1857
Frederick Douglass Paper, Rochester, New York, 1851-1859 (Currently completed through December 1852)
The Christian Recorder, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1861-1902. (Currently completed through April, 1862)
 
Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1865): A magazine to “entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.” Fulltext.
 
Accessible Archives : Full text of important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
 

New Books

Loading ...
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.