Skip to main content

Anthropology Library Guide: Reference Materials

The place to be to find everything anthropological.

Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Looking for a nice, short, clear explanation of a term or school of thought? Here are some basic, and more in-depth, general references, dictionaries, etc. to help define some of the terms used in everyday anthro-speak.

Print Sources

Sociocultural Theory in Anthropology: A Short History

Garbarino's short history consists of 2-4 page synopses of major schools of thought in anthropology and major anthropologists.

UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection Call no. GN308.G37

High Points in Anthropology

Bohannan and Glazer pick out seminal historic writings in anthropology arranged to give an historical overview of the discipline beginning with works from Herbert Spencer on through Clifford Geertz. Each paper is preceded by a short introduction by the editors.

UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection Call no. GN17.H54 1988

The Rise of Anthropological Theory

UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection Call no. GN308.H35 2001

Dictionary of Anthropology

The Dictionary's core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories, and methodologies. UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no. GN307.D485 1997

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology

UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no. RA418.E354 2004 Floor map
Holdings: v.1 - v.2

Ethnography

v. 1. The nature of ethnography -- v. 2. Ethnographic fieldwork practice -- v. 3. Issues in ethnography -- v. 4. Analysis and writing in ethnography. UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call no. GN345.E747 2001    

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology

UF LIBRARY WEST: Reference (3rd Floor) Call No. GN307.E52 1996 

Online

SAGE Reference Online 2013 Encyclopedia Collection

Search numerous SAGE social sciences encyclopedias and handbooks simultaneously.  Includes such titles as: Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, Encyclopedia of African American Society, Encyclopedia of African Religion, Encyclopedia of Anthropology, SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics, SAGE Handbook of Conflict Resolution, Encyclopedia of Epidemiology, Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies, Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science, Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods, Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society, SAGE Handbook of Remote Sensing, Handbook of Rural Studies, SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, SAGE Handbook of Social Geographies, Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine, Handbook of Social Theory, Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods, SAGE Handbook of Tourism Studies, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Handbook of Urban Studies, Handbook of World Families, and the Encyclopedia of World Poverty (3 vols.).

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology

Anthropological Theories

"A Guide Prepared by Students for Students”
The guides to anthropological theories and approaches listed below have been prepared by graduate students of the University of Alabama under the direction of Dr. Michael D. Murphy.

Annual Reviews

Comprehensive, timely collections of critical literature reviews in anthropology with organized guides to current debates in topical areas from the four disciplines.

Annual Review of Anthropology  1972 - present

Biennial Review of Anthropology 1959 to 1971

Other Reference Sources

Sites for Statistics

These sites will help you find numbers and statistics to help support your argument.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.