Skip to main content

Research Data Management at UF: Sharing & Copyright

This is a guide on resources available at the University of Florida and beyond on research data management. It includes information about tools for data management planning, data and file sharing, metadata and data standards, and data storage.

Copyright at UF

According to the UF Intellectual Property Policy:

"University personnel are required to record all research data and information accurately and clearly and to keep all such data in a permanent and retrievable form [...] "Personnel who leave the University may be permitted to copy their laboratory notebooks and take the copies with them" they are required to maintain the confidentiality of the data contained within the notebooks"

For copyright questions, please contact:

 

Sharing Data at UF

 The Institutional Repository at the University of Florida (IR@UF) "encourages university units to contribute their open access research, reports and other materials (e.g. journal articles, conference proceedings, white papers, audio, video, photographs, presentations, etc) to the IR@UF for archiving and dissemination free of commercial cost."

Recommendations on How to Share Data

How to Share Data with a Statistician - This blog post by Jeff Leek (a biostatistcs professor at Johns Hopkins) provides a good overview for how to best share your data with anyone you want to analyze it or manipulate it.

Preparing tabular data for description and archiving - From Cornell University, this resource includes general guidelines for preparing tabular data for inclusion in a repository or for sharing it with other researchers.

Copyright & Licensing

Although data  gathered during research are not protected by intellectual property law, specially built databases are.

The Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP) and The International Association of Scientific, Technical, & Medical Publishers (STM) recommend that publishers should not claim intellectual property rights on datasets submitted for publication.  

The UK Digital Curation Centre provides guidance on how to license research data.

Benefits of sharing data

  • Analyses can be reproduced and/or validated by others
  • Data can be checked for cleanliness and accuracy
  • Data can be used for educational purposes
  • Help the development and evaluation of novel statistical methods
  • Allows testing of secondary or new hypotheses
  • Helps in designing new experiments
  • Simplifies data acquisition for meta-analysis
  • Helps to prevent research misconduct and selective reporting of results

Modified from (Vickers, A 2006) Whose data is it anyway? Sharing raw data from randomized trials. Trials 7: 15)

Data Repository Directories

 re3data.org is a tool for helping identify and locate online repositories of research data.  It includes a listing of repositories by discipline and describes what kind of data is in each repository and who can deposit, access, and re-use data.

DataMed is a prototype biomedical data search engine designed to discover data sets across data repositories or data aggregators.

 

NIH Data Sharing Repositories - Includes information on how to submit data to each repository and how to access data from each repository.

 

  The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Although it primarily contains publication repositories, it also includes some data repositories and image repositories.


Considerations when Submitting Research Data to a Repository:

  • Subject/research domain
  • File format and data structure
  • Metadata/data standards
  • Use Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) or permanent links
  • Technical capacity to embargo or sequester data before public release

You may also be looking for publically available data to use in combination with your own, or to analyze in new ways.  In addition to the repositories listed above, check out the libraries' guide on Datasets: Where to Find Them for more information.

The following resource can also help you find out if certain data is openly available: http://www.isitopendata.org/.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.