Guides @ UF: EARLY CARIBBEAN HISTORY: Archival Resources

Other Caribbean Countries

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East. Click the link to access the Finding Aid.

Letterbook for the Simon Plantation, St. Kitts
Manuscript letterbook, dated 1765 to 1772, written by Samuel Cary for the Simon Estate plantation on St. Kitts (St. Christopher) in the West Indies.
William Crosbie Estate Papers
The William Crosbie Estate Papers include correspondence concerning his estate and also his agent/manager, John Otto Bayer's land in Antigua.
Dates: 1792-1816
De Mey van Streefkerk Family Papers
Reproductions of letters and other documents pertaining to the sugar plantations operated by the De Mey van Streefkerk family in the Dutch colony of Surinam in the West Indies.
Dates: 1725-1830
Ramiro Guerra Speech
Manuscript and translation of "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas" ("West Indian sugar plantations and peoples"), by Ramiro Guerra in 1934. Also includes correspondence.
Date: 1934
West Indies Papers
Correspondence of the various colonial governors of the British West Indies together with financial accounts and pay warrants.
Dates: 1771-1829

Haiti

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East. Click the link to access the Finding Aid.

Haitian Registries
Notarial papers from offices in various regions of Haiti.
Dates: 1800-1885
Haitiana Collection
Correspondence and other records documenting politics in Haiti in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Dates: 1805-1954
Jeremie Journal
Journal of unidentified American smith who lived briefly in Haiti.
Dates: 1820-1821
more...less...
Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.
Jérémie Papers
Records of the jurisdiction of Jérémie in Saint-Domingue (present-day Haiti) notarized by more than thirty notaries who operated both in Jérémie and in outlying areas. Also includes records of the civil administration, documents registered with the greffier (registrar), and a small number of ecclesiastical records.
Dates: 1714-1896
Promisory Note Issued to Citoyen Tardy, St. Domingue
Promisory note and receipt (on a printed form) issued to Citoyen Tardy, agreeing to pay him for his services to the colony of St.-Domingue (Haiti).
Date: 1793
Donatien Marie Joseph de Vimeur Rochambeau Papers
Correspondence, decrees, and other documents regarding Donatien Marie Joseph de Vimeur Rochambeau's involvement with Saint Domingue and Toussaint Louverture.
Dates: 1764-1803
Saint-Domingue and Haitian Autograph Collection
Miscellaneous autograph documents related to Saint-Domingue and Haiti at the end of the 18th century and beginning of the 19th century.
Dates: 1769-1802
Slavery and Plantations in Saint Domingue Collection
Collection of 22 handwritten letters pertaining to potential sales of various plantations and holdings, including slaves, in St. Domingue (present-day Haiti).
Dates: 1779-1791

Cuba

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East. Click the link to access the Finding Aid.

James M. Adams "Pioneering in Cuba" Papers
Bulk of collection deals with the notes and letters of James M. Adams trip and stay in Cuba during the first American colonization attempt of La Gloria. These letters and notes of his experience would later be put into his book Pioneering in Cuba which also is included.
Dates: 1882-1909
Jose Francisco Barreto y Cardenas petition to King Ferdinand VII
Petition written to King Ferdinand by Spanish nobleman Jose Francisco Barreto regarding the Cuban colony government.
Date: October 10, 1814
Braga Brothers Collection
Records related to trade, manufacture, and cultivation of Cuban sugar. The records begin in the second half of the nineteenth century and end shortly after the nationalization of the Cuban sugar industry by the government of Fidel Castro.
Dates: 1860-1984
Everett C. Brown Papers
Letters written by Everett C. Brown, an engineer and surveyor, while working for the United Fruit Company in Cuba, Costa Rica, Panama and other locations.
Dates: 1919-1921
Business Letters Describing the Financial Market in Cuba
Includes correspondence, dated 1867-1871, from agents in Cuba reporting on business and market conditions to merchants in Portland, Maine.
King Charles IV of Spain's Real Cedula to Cuba
An official copy of a real cedula expressing the King of Spain's displeasure toward interracial marriages in Cuba.
Date: 1810
Document Regarding Financial and Property Transactions of the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba
Document describing transactions of money and land between various individuals and the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba.
Date: 1844
Cuban Miscellaneous Collection at the University of Florida
The Cuban Miscellaneous Collection is comprised of a variety of materials relating to Cuba.
Various dates, ranging from 1639 to 1960.
Cuban Slave Insurance Collection
Seventeen documents pertaining to insurance for slaves in Cuba.
Dates: 1855-1878
Lope de Tapia Document Regarding Don Diego Luis Riano y Menesses
A document written by Lope de Tapia, regarding the service of Don Diego Luis Riano y Menesses in Cuba.
Date: 1639
B.S. Hile Correspondence
Letters written by B.S. Hile to his family while he is living and employed in Havana, Cuba.
Dates: 1861-1862
John Parker Letters
Letters from John Parker in Havana, Cuba, to his employer, A.C. Johnstone, describing business in Cuba.
Date: 1815
Advertencia. La presente resena de los acontecimientos...
Manuscript "Advertencia" by Antonio Prats, describing the events that resulted in his arrest during the period of political unrest leading up to the 10 Years War in Cuba.
Date: circa 1863

Subject Guide

Margarita Vargas-Betancourt

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Special & Area Studies Collections

University of Florida

Phone: (352) 273-2692

mvargasb@ufl.edu

Jamaica

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East. Click the link to access the Finding Aid.

A.S. Arnold's Photo Album and Diary of a Trip to Jamaica
Photo album and travel diary documenting a 1904 trip to Jamaica taken by three New York doctors.
John Thomas Duckworth Papers
Letters to and from Sir John Thomas Duckworth to family and his naval associates and superiors regarding his naval engagements in the Caribbean.
Dates: 1801-1807

Other Sources on the French Caribbean

You can find these documents at the Special Collections Reading Room, located in the second floor of Library East.

M. de Marillac Letter Book
Letter book containing copies and drafts of letters to the Comte de Pontchartrain from a French naval officer of the Marine. Includes a description of a voyage to the West Indies.
Dates: 1699-1702
Observations de la Chambre de Commerce, Marseille, France
An 1816 manuscript entitled, "Observations de la Chambre de Commerce... Marseille," which deals with the commerce of Marseille, particularly with the French colonies in the Americas.
Observations Importantes by Sugar Traders in Nantes, France
"Observations Importantes" by anonymous sugar traders in Nantes, France, and an "Avis" written by the deputies of commerce of Brittany.
Dates: 1788