Guides @ UF: EARLY CARIBBEAN HISTORY: Open Access Resources

Open Access are scholarly resources that are digital, online, and free. The archives listed below are not peer reviewed but contain holdings of renowned academic institutions.

Open Access

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Manioc Biblioteque Numerique Caraibe Amazonie Plateau Des Guyanes

Manioc est une bibliothèque numérique spécialisée sur la Caraïbe, l'Amazonie, le Plateau des Guyanes et les régions ou centres d'intérêt liés à ces territoires.
Vous y trouverez des documents textuels, sonores, iconographiques et des références concernant l'histoire culturelle, sociale, économique ou politique de ces pays.
Manioc apporte sa contribution à la valorisation du patrimoine et à la constitution de la mémoire de demain en mettant à disposition tant des ouvrages anciens restituant la pensée sociale d'une époque que des textes et travaux contemporains issus de la recherche universitaire.
Les documents sont mis à disposition à des fins d'étude et de recherche et non dans le but de promouvoir les idées développées par leurs auteurs.
Manioc s'inscrit dans une démarche de libre accès au patrimoine et à l'information scientifique. Dans ce cadre, Manioc est interrogeable par OAI-PMH

Digital Projects on the Caribbean

A Colony in Crisis: the Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage of 1789
The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789, which are found under the Translations menu. Alongside the French original, each translation is presented with a brief historical introduction to situate the reader in the time period and help understand how this particular pamphlet fits into the episode. Each document has been reviewed by one of the scholars on our Board of Advisors. These pamphlets are primarily drawn from the University of Maryland’s Special Collections, although related items available at other institutions have been included as well. Please see our Worldcat list if you are interested in the physical items.
Ecclesiastical & Secular Sources for Slave Societies
The ESSSS project, directed by Jane Landers and administered at Vanderbilt University, digitally preserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas. Other non-European groups, such as Chinese and indigenous groups are also represented. This website provides information about the project and its history and tools that allow researchers to search the ESSSS database containing over 600,000 documents from diverse archives in four countries (for image counts by country, click here). While most of the documents contained here date from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, there are documents from Cuba and Spanish Florida from the sixteenth century and Brazilian documents from the seventeenth.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Today, William S. Hein & Co., Inc. released the newest HeinOnline collection, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law. This collection, developed under the direction of Paul Finkelman, Ariel F. Sallows Visiting Professor of Human Rights Law at the University of Saskatchewan College of Law, has been in development for more than three years, with an investment by the Hein Company of tens of thousands of dollars. During the development of the collection, the Company’s market research indicated that Slavery in America and the World would be a very successful and profitable collection once offered on a subscription basis. However, while the Hein Company is a for-profit corporation with fiscal responsibilities to its shareholders, its mission statement contains a number of core values, one of which is Corporate Citizenship. This means that, as a company, Hein resolves to make a positive difference in the community.

Subject Guide

Margarita Vargas-Betancourt

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Special & Area Studies Collections

University of Florida

Phone: (352) 273-2692

mvargasb@ufl.edu

Examples of documents at dLOC

Open Access on Jamaica

Slavery and Revolution: Jamaica and Slavery in the Age of Revolution
Slavery and Revolution uses a blogging format to showcase excerpts from letters written by Simon Taylor (1738-1813), a slaveholder and plantation owner who lived in Jamaica during a period characterised by revolution, war, and imperial reform. The website is a free resource, open to anyone. Its contents are intended for use by academics, students, and others to use in their research, teaching, and learning.