Skip to main content

JRNL - Journal Retention and Needs Listing: Terminology

Describes the use and operation of JRNL

Terminology

Archive status

A status assigned on a title by title basis. Controlled vocabulary.

Archive status upload

The upload during which a title's archives status for a particular PSAP is initially entered into the DB

ASERL

Association of Southeastern Research Libraries

Bibliographic data upload

From tab 1 [the Import tab], the process whereby bibliographic information about a journal title is initially entered into JSS, initially establishing the record in the database. Required fields in the Bib data upload are OCLC number and title [from a MARC 245 |a], while optional fields are Publisher, ISSN, LCCN, and Dates of Publication. There is a field that allows a user to enter a source package name.

Circulation Status

A volume that is part of a print archiving program can be checked out by patrons of the library and leave the library

Complete

All volumes of this exact title, from the first volume of the title through a year specified in the holdings, are held at this location

CRL

Center for Research Libraries

CSUL

Council of State University Libraries, Florida University library deans and directors

Dates of Publication The MARC field 362 contains beginning/ending date(s) of an item and/or the sequential designations used on each part. Dates to be used in this field are chronological designations that identify individual issues of the continuing resource. The sequential designations are usually numeric but can be alphabetic as well. The information may be formatted or unformatted. If the date information has been obtained from a source other than the first and/or last issue of the item published, the information is given in an unformatted note and the source of the information is usually cited. Dates in this field may be identical to the information in fields 008/07-10 (Date 1) and/or 008/11-14 (Date 2). Incomplete, approximate, or questionable dates are not recorded in this field.

Duplicate Gap

Location, OCLC number, Volume and Chronology data all match exactly

Excel readable spreadsheet

The tool shall require use of comma separated value, [.csv] files rather than excels

FLARE

FLorida Academic REpository, acronym, general name applied to the PSAP in Florida

Full service library

The building where the volumes retained on behalf of the print archiving program is open to the patrons of the organization/library, has set hours, and the archived volumes can be retrieved by the patrons with no staff assistance

Gap

Unique combination of OCLC number, Location, volume and chronology data

Gap filler

The institution which will supply a missing volume to another institution

Gap Record upload (GRU)

The upload process where  gap records are initially entered into the system in batches, rather than one by one (GRU)

Gap report

Any search performed on the “Fill Gaps” tab and then exported to a file

Gap requester

The institution which has identified a missing volume in its collection and is posting the gap in JRNL

Gap search upload

A CSV-formatted file of OCLC numbers which is uploaded on the “Fill Gaps” tab in order to identify any Gaps in JRNL which your institution may be able to fill

Gap status

A gap may be assigned a gap status. They are: unfilled,

Google ID

Google ID shall be used to authenticate users of the tool

Holding upload

The upload during which a title's holdings for a particular location is initially entered into the DB

Holdings

Enumeration and chronology data regarding volumes held for a title that is being retained for a PSAP at a location. This data is uploaded by a user. Please also see holdings confirmation type (HCT)

Holdings confirmation type (HCT)

An indication of the degree of confidence you have in your institution’s Holdings statement.  This can be either a Physical confirmation of the Holdings or simply a Bibliographic confirmation

Home Institution

Name of the institution where a user works, usually a library

In Building Use Only

A volume that is part of a print archiving program can be checked out to a participating library but the volume cannot be checked out by the patron and must be consulted within the library facility

Journal Family

Current + previous title manifestations of a journal

Location

See PSAP location

Non-Circulating

A volume that is part of a print archiving program that cannot be circulated but can be used at the facility

Offers

An example might be “Duke has complete runs of 410 titles that they are planning to discard. They are willing to send all or portions of them to anyone who will pay for the shipping”.

On campus, closed stacks

The building where the volumes retained on behalf of the print archiving program is open to the patrons of the organization/library, has set hours, and the archived volumes will be retrieved for the patrons by staff of the organization

Package name

A data point in an optional field in a bibliographic information upload, lists the electronic package ( JSTOR, Wiley, Sage, Elsevier) that precipitated the entry of the title in the database

PAPR

Print Archives Preservation Registry

PSAP

Print Serial Archiving Program (ASERL, FLARE, Scholars Trust, TRLN, WEST, WRLC)

PSAP location

A physical building or part of a building which will house the journal being archived by a PSAP

Storage high density Harvard style

The building where the volumes retained on behalf of the print archiving program is a non-publicly accessible, secure, tall stack facility, with materials stored by size in acid free cardboard trays under careful inventory control

Storage-other

The building where the volumes retained on behalf of the print archiving program is not a full service library, nor are they located in a Harvard style high density model location. Off-site storage that is not Harvard style high density would be listed here

Templates

Templates will be required and provided to users so that the correct and required data and ONLY the correct and required data is uploaded to the DB

Title record

Name for the resulting discrete sets of bibliographic information entered into the DB during the bibliographic data upload process

Title search report

Any search performed on the “Title List” tab and then exported to a file

Title search upload

A CSV-formatted file of OCLC numbers which is uploaded on the “Title List” tab in order to identify the depth of Holdings for those titles within JRNL

TRLN

Triangle Research Libraries Network

Uploads

Data coming into the system from users via a .csv file

User, User Administrator

One of the top level administrative users, can perform technical users task PLUS

User, Basic

Basic users can search titles, holdings and gaps; commit their institution to fill a gap; retract their institution's commitment to fill a gap.

User, Technical

A Technical User may perform all JRNL functions available to the institution.  This includes all Basic User functions as well as uploading Holdings and performing Administrative functions

WEST

Western Regional Storage Trust, a PSAP, over 100 libraries in the Western US collaboratively

WRLC

Washington Research Library Consortium 

xISSN

Service from OCLC which helps understand journal family relationships, a FREE service, not required to have a subscription to OCLC, only 1,000 calls/queries a day

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.