Skip to main content

Political Science Data Services : Overview

Data or Statistics?

Are you are looking for data or statistics?

Data consists of raw information, either quantitative or qualitative. Statistics are calculated from data.

For example, you might see a table showing the number of people who voted in the 2012 elections, with one number for each state. This is data. That data could then be used to calcuate a statistic--for example the average number of people who voted across all the states.

Knowing which type of information you're looking for is important--it will greatly aid in your search!


This Guide is designed to help UF faculty and students to find and use Social Science data. The main focus is on quantitiative data, but assistance with qualitative data is offered as well. In terms of subject fields, political science-related data is emphasized, but data from other social science fields are also included.  

To browse resources for the particular type of data you are looking for, click on the appropriate tab immediately above this box, or on the link in the box on the right.

Assistance and Help

If you need assistance in locating or working with a social science dataset, or with using data in SPSS, contact David Schwieder, Coordinator of Humanities and Social Sciences Data Services (Contact information in the box on the right).

Data Services Available

Several types of data services are offered through the Coordinator of Humanities and Social Science Data Services at Library West. These include:

Assistance with Data Subscriptions

The UF Libraries hold subscriptions with several social science data archives. These include the ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) and the Roper Center Archives. If you need any assistance using these resources, we can help.  

Data Reference

Need to find data? We can help you to locate relevant datasets for classes, research, or other projects. Typically, this data comes from several places:

Subscription Data Services

Social science data archives like the ICPSR and the Roper Center Archives.  

Web Repositories

Numerous "Open Web" repositories hold data available for researchers' use. These range from large institutional centers, like Pew, to smaller holdings assembled or offered by individual researchers.   

Other Resources

Along with subscriptions and web repositories, there are other ways to locate data as well (See the "Finding Data" tab above). We can assist you with these as well.

Assistance with Statistical Analysis Programs

We can also offer assistance with two popular statistical analysis programs: SPSS and Stata. Help is available either as one-on-one consulting, or as class instruction sessions.

Subject Guide

David Schwieder's picture
David Schwieder
518 Library West


Hot Links

U.S. Congress Data: Includes datasets on congressional operations (roll call voting data, data on committees, etc) and datasets related to congressional elections.

U.S. Voting and Elections Data: Includes datasets related to elections (voting turnout, candidate choices of voters, etc.). Datasets for U.S. and international elections.

International Voting and Elections Data: Includes datasets for non-U.S. elections.

Public Opinion Data: Includes U.S. and international datasets

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.