Skip to main content

General History: Newspapers

U.S. Newspapers

Check the UF Libraries Catalog for newspaper titles.

Most microfilm copies are located in Library West, 3rd floor, by call number.

 

Historical Newspapers Online

Access World Newspaper Archive

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Accessible Archives : important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.  Includes:

African American Newspapers:  The 19th Century Collection of seven fulltext newspapers written by African-Americans for African-Americans.
Freedom's Journal, New York, New York, 1827-1829
The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), New York, New York, 1837-1841
The North Star, Rochester, New York, 1847-1851
The National Era, Washington, D.C., 1847-1860 (Currently completed through December 1853)
Provincial Freeman, Chatham, Canada West, 1854-1857
Frederick Douglass Paper, Rochester, New York, 1851-1859 (Currently completed through December 1852)
The Christian Recorder, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1861-1902. (Currently completed through April, 1862)

also available:

    Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1865)

        A magazine to “entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.” Famous for fashion plates.  Fulltext.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (from America's Historical Newspapers database)

American Periodical Series (1741-1900):  

         A collection of over 1,100 American periodicals.  Facsimile pages.

Chicago Defender

". . . by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago."  (Black Studies Center)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

          Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about    American newspapers published between 1690-present. A project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

HarpWeek 1857 - 1877.  (American Civil War and Reconstruction periods)

A popular nineteenth century periodical, Harper’s Weekly tracks the major political, social and military stories of its day, with editorials, book reviews, literature and advertising.  From  Northern perspective.

HarpWeek.com   

The free version with special features (topics) compiled from the magazine pages.

LexisNexis 

Hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires and other news.  Text only.  Generally 1980s to present.

NewspaperCat 

Links to over 1,500 full-text historical newspaper titles from the U.S. and Caribbean.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers:

Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of many newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.  It covers the entire 19th century.

Periodicals Archive Online:

Index to the tables of contents of thousands of humanities and social sciences periodicals, from their first issues (some late 1700s) to the early 1990s, with fulltext of several hundred periodicals.

Proquest Historical Newspapers Online:

Times (London, England) 

From  1785-1985:        Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985

07/01/1985 to present: Access World News

 

British History Microform

British History Microform Sets:

English Literary Periodicals, Library West, 3rd floor, Microform Area: AP 3 .E55 

Colonial and Revolutionary Period of America: English Literary Periodicals (c. 1681-1914) National and international news, scientific news, religion, fashion, music, politics, history, and "amusements."  Includes a list of the 233 periodical titles published in Great Britain.
       
Social and political status of women in Britain: Smathers, Microform Area: HQ  1101 .S6[2][3]

Radical and reforming periodicals for and by women (Series One, Parts 1-3) (1858-1939) Includes a list of 68 periodical titles.

Online Guides

Florida Newspaper Project
Guide to all known copies of Florida newspapers; (not all are in the UF Libraries; use Interlibrary Loan for others.)
 
Newspaper Article Database, 1762-1885 (from William & Sue Goza and Thomas & Georgine Mickler Collections)
Index to 1500 articles on Florida in non-Florida newspapers.
 
Latin American Newspapers on Microfilm (held by the Latin American and Caribbean Collection, Smathers Library East)
Guide that includes 125 Cuban exile community papers.  The Mellon Foundation Caribbean Newspaper Project has a  selected index to Le Nouvelliste (Haiti) and Diario de la Marina (Cuba); consult Richard Phillips, Collection Head.
 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.