NASA's permanent archive for space science mission data. Space science means astronomy & astrophysics, solar and space plasma physics, and lunar and planetary science. Archives > 130 TB of data, 7 TB of the most important data are available for digital download.
NASA funded project to support and provide to the astronomical community a variety of astronomical data archives, with the primary focus on scientifically related data sets in the optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum. MAST is located at the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI).
(operated by CDS)
Interactive software sky atlas allows the user to visualize digitized astronomical images, superimpose entries from astronomical catalogues or databases, and access data from object archives.
SPIDR is designed to allow a solar terrestrial physics customer to intelligently access and manage historical space physics data for integration with environment models and space weather forecasts. (Operated by National Geophysical Data Center)
(operated by CDS and ESA-ESRIN)
Access to 10934 published astronomical catalogues and data tables available online. Optimized to query some very large catalogues such as UCAC2, USNO-B1, and 2MASS's last release.
Built around a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line. Detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data, have been taken from large compilations and from the literature. NED also includes images from 2MASS, from the literature, and from the Digitized Sky Survey. NED's data and references are being continually updated, with revised versions being put on-line every 4-6 months.
The HLA includes enhanced data products (ACS, WFPC2, & NICMOS images, ACS & WFPC2 source lists, ACS & NICMOS extracted grism spectra, prototype ACS mosaics) and also provides access to the standard HST data products when HLA enhanced products have not yet been created.
Hubble Space Telescope (HST) is an orbiting astronomical observatory operating from the near-infrared into the ultraviolet. Launched in 1990, HST carries and has carried a wide variety of instruments producing imaging, spectrographic, astrometric, and photometric data through both pointed and parallel observing programs. Over 100 000 observations of more than 20 000 targets are available for retrieval from the Archive.
The Digitized Sky Survey comprises a set of all-sky photographic surveys in E, V, J, R, and N bands conducted with the Palomar and UK Schmidt telescopes. The Catalogs and Surveys Branch (CASB) is digitizing the photographic plates to support HST observing programs but also as a service to the astronomical community.
The 6.5-degree x 6.5-degree plates are scanned using a modified PDS microdensitometer to a pixel scale of about 1.7 arcseconds per pixel for the POSS, SERC, and Palomar Quick-V surveys, and to about 1.0 arcseconds per pixel for the POSS-II surveys.
Images of any part of the sky may be extracted from the DSS, in either FITS or GIF format.