Skip to main content

Aleph@UF: Macro Express

Cataloging procedures and policies

Updated by Greg Allen, January 2019   

Macro Express Macros Used For Aleph Cataloging

(current macro suite on server at:
\\ad.ufl.edu\uflib\SharedProjects\AcqCatTools\MacroExpress\uflib.1.1.3\uflib.mex)

 

The Cataloging Department in
George A. Smathers Libraries at
the University of Florida uses
Macro Express for general cataloging.


This guide outlines the macros that
we have developed for our needs.

Clicking on main headings will take
you to detailed explanations of each macro
.

 

  • Bibliographic
    • CreateItem
    • EtdEdit1
    • EtdEdit2
    • EtdEdit3
    • KillSub5
    • LkrLinking
    • SeriesEditing
    • StatusSuppressed
    • UfdcLinks
       

 

 

 

 

 


 

  • Holdings
    • AccessionNumber
    • Basic866
    • CreateNewField
    • Custom32Ignore
    • ElectronSublib
    • MissingData852
    • Reclass_Holdings
    • SupplementExpress
    • VolumeHoldings
       

 

 

  • Other
    • CollectionChange
    • ItemDescPrime
    • ItemPurpose
    • OclcBrn
    • PrepSysnums
    • SequentialReader
       

 

 

  • PKYonge
    • Pky_092
    • Pky_521
    • Pky_852abcx
    • Pky_852ax






       
  • Statistics
    • CatStats
    • CcSearchingStats
    • CollChangeStats

   Top Cataloging Menu

        Bibliographic Menu

      Donations/Collections Menu

      Holdings Menu

      Other Menu

     PKYonge Menu

 

    Statistics Menu

Macro Express Macros Used For Aleph Cataloging

  • Bibliographic -- (Purpose: A menu containing macros dealing with bib record display)
    • CreateItem
      • Purpose: Assists with creation of simple items with limited location
      • Assumptions: Fired in bib screen with cursor inside
      • Comments: Used principally by students in copy cataloging unit
    • EtdEdit1
      • Purpose: Annotates ETD records for easy retrieval for further work
      • Assumptions:
        • Spreadsheet is prepared with a list of UTL numbers
        • Spreadsheet is on top
        • Desired cell has focus
        • Aleph directly below spreadsheet in z-order
    • EtdEdit2
      • Purpose: Edits ETD records in preparation for upload to Worldcat
      • Assumptions:
        • Local file open to first record in client
        • Cursor at home on first field in variable fields
      • Comments: Per Gerald Langford--users known to wait for escape key--no need for dialog (line 95)
    • EtdEdit3
      • Purpose: Adds OCLC number to UF catalog bib record
      • Assumptions: Aleph Cataloging and OCLC Connexion client both running with user logged in
    • KillSub5
      • Purpose: Deletes fields with subfield 5
      • Assumptions:
        • Cataloging module running
        • Focus in proper record
    • LkrLinking
      • Purpose: Aids with placing LKR fields on related records in our system
      • Assumptions: Aleph Cataloging running
    • SeriesEditing
      • Purpose: Aids with uniformity both in title and series numbering form as pertains to analyzed series
      • Assumptions: Aleph Cataloging running
    • StatusSuppressed
      • Purpose: Creates a STA SUPPRESSED field in the current record
      • Assumptions: Desired record has cursor and focus
    • UfdcLinks
      • Purpose: Adds 856 and 852 fields to Aleph records of UFDC material
      • Assumptions: Desired record has cursor and focus
      • Comments: VBA procedure is used within excel to prepare input which is then saved as .csv file by user ; this version gives user option as far as creating holdings or not
         
  • Donations/Collections – (Purpose: A menu for creating donor data/virtual bookplates for gifts)
    • Donations
      • Purpose: assists with the cataloging of donor, honoree and special purchases 
      • Assumptions:
        • User using split screen with holdings upper right;
        • Bib record has focus before user triggers routine 
    • Endowments1
      • Purpose: Assists with the cataloging of special purchases
      • Assumptions:
        • User using split screen with holdings upper right;
        • Bib record has focus before user triggers routine
    • NamedCollections
      • Purpose: A menu containing macros for named collections
    • NamedDonors
      • Purpose: Annotates special gifts and purchases
      • Assumptions:
        • User using split screen with holdings upper right and
        • Bib on the left with cursor in bib record
      • Comments: This one is used for single donors where the simple phrase 'Gift of' is desired
         
  • Holdings – (Purpose: A menu containing macros dealing with holdings display)
    • AccessionNumber
      • Purpose: Provides accession numbers to catalogers for media items: DVDs, Videos, etc.
      • Comments
        • Accession number is displayed visually--not added automatically to record
        • Numbers are stored in centralized .ini file and are simply incremented by 1
        • User can change mind and leave number available for next cataloger
    • Basic866
      • Purpose: Creates 866 fields with subfield a
      • Assumptions: Focus in pertinent display
    • CreateNewField
      • Purpose: Creates NEW field.
      • Assumptions: Holdings record has focus in upper pane
    • Custom32Ignore
      • Purpose: Adds an 852x to records listed in a text file
      • Assumptions:
        • Cataloging module running
        • User connected to holdings library
      • Comments: There can be silent failure if text mode fails (see get_field)
    • ElectronSublib
      • Purpose: Annotates 852 a, b and c for electronic resources
      • Assumptions: Fired in holdings screen
      • Comments: Saves record; deletes subfields h and i
    • MissingData852
      • Purpose: Aids in repair or creation of 852 fields
      • Assumptions: Pertinent holdings record has focus
    • Reclass_Holdings
      • Purpose: Adds new call numbers to the corresponding Aleph holdings.
    • SupplementExpress
      • Purpose: Aids in the creation of 854 and 864 fields with one level of enumeration
      • Assumptions: Cursor in holdings record
      • Comments: Handles high volume simple cases (see VolumeHoldings)
    • VolumeHoldings
      • Purpose: Assists with linked fields in sets, supplements and indices
         
  • Other – (Purpose: A menu containing macros used by only a few users)
    • CollectionChange
      • Purpose: Assists with withdrawals, transfers, etc.
      • Assumptions: Macro is fired with focus on cataloging / item view or holdings record
    • ItemDescPrime
      • Purpose: Ensures proper form of item description
      • Assumptions:
        •      User populates item result set in aleph    
        •      Field J will have two digit numeral
        •      Macro is triggered with focus on first item in result set
        •      User provides holding link number
        •      Each item's barcode is unique
    • ItemDescription
      • Purpose: Creates a correctly formatted description field in item record
      • Assumptions:
        • User populates item result set in aleph    
        • Macro is triggered with focus on first item in result set
    • OclcBrn
      • Purpose: Prepares records for overlay (OCLC Bibliographic Record Notification)
      • Assumptions:
        • OCLC Connexion Client open and logged in to WorldCat
        • Aleph Cataloging module open
    • PrepSysnums
      • Purpose: Prepares a list of system numbers in the proper format for global changes
      • Assumptions:
        • Text file lines represent incomplete system numbers;
        • Lines begin with numeric  characters
    • SequentialReader
      • Purpose: Reads an aleph sequential text file and prepares a tab-delimited output suitable for pasting into a spreadsheet
      • Assumptions: Rows representing one bibliographic entity (system number) are located     contiguously in the report
         
  • PKYonge – (Purpose: A menu containing macros dealing with P. K. Yonge)
    • Pky_092
      • Purpose: Creates a 092 field for the P. K. Yonge librarian
    • Pky_521
      • Purpose: Creates a 521 field for the P. K. Yonge librarian
    • Pky_852abcx
      • Purpose: Creates a 852 for the P. K. Yonge librarian
    • Pky_852ax
      • Purpose: Creates a 852 for the P. K. Yonge librarian
         
  • Statistics – (Purpose: A menu containing macros dealing with creating triggers for stats)
    • CatStats
      • Purpose: Adds trigger to current record to record cataloging statistics
    • CcSearchingStats
      • Purpose: Adds trigger to current record to record Copy Cataloging student searches
      • Assumptions: Correct record displayed
    • CollChangeStats
      • Purpose: Adds triggers to current record to record database maintenance statistics
      • Assumptions: Catalog module running with holdings record showing

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.