Skip to main content

Aleph@UF: Cataloging Statistics

Cataloging procedures and policies

Cataloging Statistics

Updated April 2019 by Dave Van Kleeck

Cataloging statistics are recorded via the HOL trigger using a statistics macro available in the Cataloging macro suite. A trigger is an Aleph function that allows the cataloger to place a note on a record. 

A trigger report of the cataloging statistics is generated monthly. The report includes the bib and holding system numbers, title, language of item, unit, user id, trigger creation date, and trigger text. The trigger text covers the type of material cataloged and the number of volumes/units as well as information about upgrades to OCLC and authority creation/revision.

Refer to the following list for assistance in assigning a category to a specific type of material:

mono: print book (includes atlases), booklets

servol: print serial with barcode

serissue: print serial without barcode (includes print newspapers)

mfilm: microfilm

mfilmnews: microfilm newspaper

mfiche: microfiche

directER: non-Web electronic resource (includes GIS) (e.g., database on cd-rom)

remoteER: Web resource (includes ETDs and 856 full text links)

score: print music score

cart: print map

audio: audiocassette, music cd, spoken word cd, sound disc

video: vhs, dvd video, laserdisk video, videodisc

manuscript: print manuscript/archive material

graph: non-Web graphic (e.g., art originals and reproductions, flash cards, photographs, broadsides, technical drawings, filmstrips, stereographs, slides)

kit: kit

realia: three dimensional artifact (e.g., Kurt Vonegut's jeans, woodblock, shadow puppet)

Need to correct an entry when running the macro?

If you make a mistake when inputting information using the macro, simply click the cancel button on all open macro windows. When all the open macro windows are closed, the trigger window should be visible. If the trigger window does not contain your trigger, click the close button and start the macro over again to input your information. If the trigger window does contain your trigger, you will need to delete the trigger. To delete your trigger, select Edit/Record's triggers from the Catalog Module toolbar and with the trigger highlighted in the trigger window, click the delete button.

New titles

The macro includes an option to select the title for the New Titles logical base in the Web OPAC. All new shared and original titles should be selected. The macro will create a NEW field populated with $a new $b yyyymmdd. Titles remain in the New Titles index for 90 days after which time FLVC runs a program that flips the NEW field to an OLD field.

The HOL validation includes a prompt to enter the NEW field - "Tag NEW missing, add NEW tag?" - which serves as a reminder both to add the tag and also to run the stats macro for newly cataloged titles. The validation message no longer appears when the NEW field flips to an OLD field. When it is not appropriate to add the NEW field (e.g., regular updates of serial holdings), click Override to save the holding to the server without adding the field. If desired, add an OLD field to the holding to eliminate the prompt and avoid having to click Override each time the holding is revised. To differentiate OLD fields added for this purpose from those flipped by FCLA's program, enter the field using the following text: "OLD::$a x $b x "

For information about how to access New Titles in the OPAC, see New Titles in the Library Catalog. New titles may also be accessed through the client using the keyword index WNW.  Old new titles are accessible searching the keyword index WOD.

Stats for multiple units in a container

Report the total number of units, rather than a number for the container, as described in these examples:

 

1 DVD title on 3 disks in 1 container

Stat=1 title, 3 units

(Do not count as 1 title, 1 unit)

 

1 CD title on 2 disks in 1 container

Stat=1 title, 2 units

(Do not count as 1 title, 1 unit)

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.