Skip to main content

Germanic Studies: German Collections in the UF Library

German Collections at the University of Florida Library

The Library's support of German Studies at UF includes campus programs covering all periods and aspects of German linguistics and literature; the history of the German-speaking peoples from the earliest period to the present; as well as the politics, philosophy, sociology and cultural achievements of these populations. UF's German Studies programs have been consistently ranked in the top echelon of such programs in the United States, and the Library strives to collect broadly and deeply across disciplinary lines in support of them.

The German collections grew at a modest rate during most of the twentieth century, but generous funding in the seventies and eighties allowed greatly increased acquisition both of contemporary materials and also of older literature in original editions and in reprints. Today the Library's catalog records almost 700,000 "hits" for the search "German Language" materials. This number includes materials available from the General Collection, items that can be requested from our storage facillity, those in the Judaica Colection and the Architecture and Fine Arts Collection. In terms of format, the breakdown is 622, 432 books, 81,004 Microforms, and 39,216 Manuscripts. These numbers include what is available from our subcollections: The Center for Research Libraries, Florida Academic Repostory, Journals and Serials, the Law Library and the Medical Library. In addition, we have materials in the UF Digital Collections. 

Given the broad interests of the University's German Department, the German literature collection is well developed in all periods, from the Middle Ages to the present. It is strongest for the twentieth century, with particularly good holdings for "exil" literatur, the output of East German authors following the division of Germany after WWII.

The UF Libraries hold close to 400 German videos with titles covering Architecture, Opera, Art, Culture and Literature. The Library also has a growing collection of secondary material online, including reference tools, electronic journals, and an ever increasing number of electronic books.

The holdings in German language studies include a strong collection of dictionaries and other reference works and good runs of the standard journals. Collections in Dutch and Scandinavian literature and language focus on standard authors, usually in critical editions.

The University Library also participates in several cooperative programs to provide additional access to German resources. The Center for Research Libraries has one of the largest collections of German dissertations in the world and will purchase on demand titles that are not in its collection. The Center also has extensive microform holdings in German literature and newspapers. The Library is a partner in the Google Books Project and in the Hathi Trust and has integrated the Hathi Trust open access titles into our catalog.

Dr. Giles' Library Tour of German Treasures

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.