Guides @ UF: AEB 2014-Economic Issues, Food, and You: Journal Articles

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

Economics Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography, EconLit, indexes more than thirty years of economics literature from around the world.

Economist.com
Economist.com has all the latest articles from The Economist newspaper and an archive containing the 33,000 Economist articles published since 1997.

Key Databases

Agricola (ProQuest) - Agriculture (Primarily U.S.)
CAB Abstracts - Agriculture (International)
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) - Sciences
ABI/Inform - Business
ProQuest Statistical Insight - Statistical
PAIS International - International
GPO - Government Printing Office
Handbook of Agricultural Economics - Agriculture development
AgEcon Search-Open Access respository that focuses on scholarly research in agriculture and applied economics.
PubAg- USDA's new portal for scientific agricultural literature.

Are you a student required to create a new product and find its potential market, test it, and make sure it meets safety standards?

Resources that can show you how to get a corner of the market, understand the competition, and locate demographic information.

Mintel Reports - UK based. consumer products. great with food and beverage products and lifestyle trends. market share, company profiles, demographics (women and kids too), industries

IBISWorld - market research. niche items, such as goat farming. some market share, few company profiles. includes demographics and industry information

MarketResearch.com Academic - aggregator of others' reports. 12 month embargos on reports. some market share and demographics, has company reports and industry information

First Research Industry Profiles on Hoover's Online - industry profiles. Touch on agribusiness.

Databases: Project Starters

UF Libraries subscribe to thousands of databases. Not sure where to start? The following databases contain scholarly material in a variety of subject areas.

Databases A-Z
See the full list of thousands of UF Libraries databases, organized by title.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Search more than 8,500 journals for articles in a variety of disciplines. A Sociological Collection is included. Some full text is available. Coverage dates vary.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Short for Journal Storage, JSTOR is an archive of academic journals. Issues older than 3-5 years are available in full text. You can search journals in many disciplines, including sociology, psychology, population studies, and more.
MEDLINE (Web of Science ) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of medicine, including psychiatry. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals. Some full text available. Coverage: 1965 to date
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science contains three databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). SSCI indexes nearly 2,000 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. Some full text is available. Coverage dates for SSCI: 1956-current.

Is it peer reviewed/refereed?

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.