Skip to main content

Plant Pathology: Cite Your Sources

What is a Citation?

What is a citation? A citation....

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

A citation manager is a tool which helps you to store, organize and output your citations in the format you prefer.

Anatomy of a citation

To cite your references you will need to keep track of the following information for all your resources. We recommend using a Citation Management tool such as RefWorks or EndNote Web.

  • Author(s)

  • Year

  • Article or Book Title

  • Journal Name for Article; Publisher Location for Book

  • Volume & Issue for Article; Publisher for Book

  • Pages

  • DOI

There are many citation styles; the citations below follow APA 6th edition.  Confirm what citation style is required by your professor or publisher.

Journal article:

Baseggio, M., Newman, Y., Sollenberger, L. E., Fraisse, C., & Obreza, T. (2015). Planting rate and depth effects on Tifton 85 bermudagrass establishment using rhizomes. Crop Science, 55(3), 1338-1345. doi:10.2135/cropsci2014.09.0605

Book:

Smith, C. W. & Dilday, R. H. (Eds.). (2003) Rice: Origin, history, technology and production. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons.

Options for Citation Management

All Citation Management Software allow you to collect, organize, and format citations but there are important differences among the different types.


  1. RefWorks is web-based for easy access from anywhere as long as you have an Internet connection. Importing from databases is typically easy and many databases have a direct export option. Additionally, RefWorks provides the Write-N-Cite plugin so you can cite references from your RefWorks library in MS Word while you write. RefShare allows you to share citations with research partners or the public.
  2. Zotero is a very easy-to-use open source tool. The program lives right in your Firefox browser! Using Zotero, it is especially easy to capture and save citations found on webpages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient and creative organization. Zotero also offers a plugin for MS Word so you can cite while you write. The downside is you are not able to edit citation styles.
  3. EndNote is a very sophisticated citation manager that offers the largest number of citation formats and options. It offers a plugin for MS Word so you can cite while you write. You can share citations. The downside is EndNote is not free, is limited to one computer, and is fairly expensive.
  4. EndNote Basic is web-based and is a simplified version of EndNote.  It has the ability to work in tandem with EndNote, as well as be a stand-alone system.  It has a 50,000 citation limit, and less citation styles than EndNote itself.
  5. Mendeley is web-based and has the ability to add citations in MS Word.  Has a cool drag-n-drop feature with pdf attachments and allows you to share your citations in a social network. The downside is you are not able to edit citation styles. While we do not teach Mendeley, it is a popular and available system. 

EndNote Web

EndNote Web logo

Are you looking for additional help in using EndNote Web? Look no further because now there is a libguide dedicated to answer all your EndNote questions. This guide has everything you will need to know in order to efficiently use EndNote.

 

http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/Endnote     

Get started by logging in with your Gator ID at myendnoteweb.com

 

RefWorks

Create your own personal database by importing references from online databases:

  • Use these references in writing papers
  • Automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds
  • Create multiple accounts, accessible from anywhere
  • Quickly access the full-text, when available

If you have questions, try the RefWorks Libguide. Here you will find detailed instructions on using the different features availalbe within RefWorks.

Tips to Avoid Plagiarism

Be ethical. Give credit to your sources.

Plagiarism can have serious repercussions.

26 Guidelines for Avoiding Plagiarism, by M. Roig

Responsible Conduct of Research LibGuide

Test yourself: Gaming Against Plagiarism

Citation Management Workshops

UF Libraries offer hands-on workshops for EndNote Web and Ref Works.  Click here to see the schedule and register for a class.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.