Skip to main content

Federal Documents at UF: Home

UF is a Regional Federal Depository Library

 

FDLP

The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. It distributes materials in a variety of formats, including electronic, CD, microfiche, and paper. As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) distributes certain classes of Government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories.These libraries are known as Federal depository libraries.

Federal depository libraries must offer free, public access to their Federal collections, even if the depository library is part of a private academic institution. In addition, information specialists are available at these libraries to assist the American public to locate Federal information.

U.S. Federal Documents Collection

The University of Florida’s Regional Federal Depository Documents Collection has been moved off campus and is now housed in the Auxiliary Library Facility.  Documents in this collection may be retrieved by UF patrons and the general public.  Once requested, documents are delivered to the circulation desk at Library West for pick-up, usually within 24 hours. 

Accessing Federal Documents from the Regional Depository Collection

Close to fifty percent of the federal documents housed in the Auxiliary Storage Facility are cataloged and records may be found in the library catalog.  If you are searching for a federal document and it is not in the catalog, it may be in the portion of the collection that is not reflected in the catalog.  For assistance in locating items not in the catalog, please email govdocsrequest@uflib.ufl.edu and include the title and publishing agency in your message or contact Jan Swanbeck, the Federal Depository Librarian, janswan@uflib.ufl.edu.

Identifying Information Published by the Federal Government

The Monthly Catalog of the United States is a database that lists all documents published by the Government Printing Office (now Government Publishing Office) from 1895 to the present.  This database is restricted to UF users.

 

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications  is a database made available by the Government Publishing Office that provides access to documents from 1951 to the present.

 

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all the branches of the Federal Government.

 

GPO's MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and collections while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

 

HeinOnline is a legal research database containing many collections of federal documents.  This database is restricted to UF users.

 

Internet Archive is an excellent source to locate digitized federal documents.

 

LLMC Digital Law Library is a source of federal digital legal documents.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

How Non-UF Users may retrieve federal documents

Any user from a State University or State College in Florida may request a document listed in the library catalog that displays a “UBorrow” link.  If there is no “UBorrow” link, they should use the Interlibrary Loan service at their institution.   

Users not affiliated with a State University or State College in Florida may request documents housed in the storage facility and have them delivered to the circulation desk at Library West on the University of Florida campus.  Before coming to campus they should send an email to govdocsrequest@uflib.ufl.edu  or call 352-273-2665 or 352-273-0375 to make arrangements for retrieval of the documents prior to their arrival.  Users may also request documents using their library’s Interlibrary Loan Service.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.