Skip to main content

Electronic Resources Management Advisory Group: ERMAG

                                                                                        

Image Credit: https://rowman.com/ISBN/9781442262768/Implementing-and-Assessing-Use-Driven-Acquisitions-A-Practical-Guide-for-Librarians

Membership


  • Trey Shelton – Chair
  • Steve Carrico – Ex Officio
  • Tara Cataldo – Representing MSL
  • Richard Freeman – Representing Library West
  • Jorge Gonzalez – Representing Cataloging & Metadata
  • Rae Jesano – Representing Health Science Center Library
  • Peter McKay – Representing Library West
  • Michelle Leonard – Representing Library West
  • Ann Lindell – Representing Departmental Libraries
  • Christopher Vallandingham – Representing Legal Information Center

This committee reports to Pat Reakes, Associate Dean Scholarly Resources & Services, and Cecilia Botero, Associate Dean for Discovery and Access & Frackler Director, Health Science Center Libraries. The charge, responsibilities, and initiatives for this group are guided by both Associate Deans.

Charge


The Electronic Resources Management Advisory Group (ERMAG) reviews the selection, acquisition, and accessibility of electronic resources at the University of Florida Libraries. The committee will promote library-wide communications and review priorities concerning the management of electronic resources, in part by reviewing workflows for selection, license approval, budget and format control, usage reports, bibliographic processing, and end-user interface.  The committee will serve as a key source for evaluating new technology and recommending initiatives that improve patron access to electronic resources.  Monthly meetings may include invited speakers or vendors demonstrating new products that will enrich the electronic resources collections. 


Responsibilities:

  • Advise and suggest improvements to Serials Solutions ERM functionality to make cost data, contact information, and license agreements/information available to library staff

  • Assist in the development of 360 Counter reports on cost & usage analysis

  • Evaluate and coordinate the Summon discovery service

  • Evaluate and make recommendations for both UF-funded and FLVC-funded e-resources

  • Identify appropriate training needs for library staff in the use of the ERM, SharePoint, 360 Counter, and other tools used in e-resource management

  • Review and recommend purchases and monitor budget expenditures for e-resources; investigate possible cancellations due to budget shortfalls

  • Use SharePoint and LibGuide to serve as a conduit for information regarding ERMAG projects and e-resource initiatives

  • Recommend changes and enhancements to the OPAC and library webpages to better enable patrons to discover and access our electronic resources

  • Investigate and make recommendations for off-campus access issues, such as EZ Proxy and VPN

  • Provide infrastructure for communication when electronic resources are inaccessible to users

 

Special Projects


Special projects or initiatives ERMAG undertakes will be summarized here.


‚ÄčFLVC Funded Resource Changes - 15/16

In 2015 FLVC dropped several databases, forcing the State University Libraries to pick up the cost of those database to ensure continued access. The E-Resource Olympics scores for FLVC-funded resources slated for cancellation were updated by ERMAG representatives to aid in the decision making process. FLVC also upgraded several EBSCOhost databases for the State University Libraries. 

Upgrades (Replaces "Full Text" and "Index Retrospective" versions)

  • Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
  • Art Source (ESBCO)
  • Education Source (EBSCO)
  • Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Dropped by FLVC (bolded items were picked up by UF):

  • Biography Index Past & Present (EBSCO)
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO)
  • Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)
  • OmniFile Mega Full Text (EBSCO)
  • Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
  • Chicano Database (EBSCO)
  • History of STM (EBSCO)
  • Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)
  • SCIPIO (OCLC)
  • Avery Index (ProQuest)
  • ProQuest Congressional (ProQuest)

The total cost to UF for maintaining these subscriptions for the first year was $33,276.59.


Discovery Service Evaluation

In 2015 ERMAG was charged with evaluation the ProQuest's Summon discovery service and EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) to judge the effectiveness of each. ERMAG formed an ad hoc task force and developed a plan and timeline to complete the evaluation. A full, live trial of EDS was established. Librarians used the EDS trial and an existing, local implementation of Summon to recreate searches using actual queries executed by library patrons within the past year in Summon. A recommendation was submitted to Library administration which lead to the renewal of Summon.  


E-Resources Olympics

In 2014 ERMAG undertook an iniative to assess the value of electronic resources paid for by the Smathers Libraries and consortial partners, including e-journals, databases, and other subscriptions. Rating of Platinum, Gold, SIlver, and Bronze were used to signify the relative value of these resources to the UF community. The results of this project have been used multiple times to plan for potential and impending changes to consortially provided resources by identifiying  resources paid for by the Smathers Libraries that would have the least impact if cancelled. 

Wish List


‚ÄčEach Spring a wish list of resources the Smathers Libraries do not currently own or subscribe to is compiled based on Selector/Liaison Librarian requests. The Wish List is submitted to Library Administration for review, and items approved by administration are purchased with end-of-year funds. 


 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.