Skip to main content

Antique Maps at the Map & Imagery Library: General Antique Map Collection

About the Collection

In addition to the Florida History and Sanborn Fire Insurance map collections, the Map and Imagery Library holds over 1200 antique maps published from the late 1400s to the early 1900s (15th to 20th centuries). It includes worldwide geographic coverage with concentrations in Africa, the Middle East ("Holy Land"), and Latin America and the Caribbean.

Searching for Antique Maps

Information about the antique maps in the collection is accessible in the online catalog via the advanced search. Search results will include call numbers and links to digital copies (if digitized). The vast majority have been digitized and are also accessible online in the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). 

Smathers Libraries Catalog: Advanced Search

Map & Imagery Library Online Map Collection in UFDC

SEARCH THE CATALOG

In the Advanced Search, select Map & Imagery Library from the drop down list in the Limit your search further by: Location: box; select Map in the Format: box; enter 1400 and 1920 in the Published from (year): boxes (or other date range). Then, click the Search button.

It may be helpful to sort results by publication date, by selecting Pub Date (oldest) from the drop down list in the Sort by: box.

 

 

Loading
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.