Skip to main content

Genetics @ HSC: Databases

Pubmed

pubmed

PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

Additional resources can be found at this library guide on Bioinformatics.

Gene Ontology

The Gene Ontology
This is a bioinformatics project aiming to standardize the representation of gene and gene product attributes across species and databases. It contains a controlled vocabulary of terms for describing gene product characteristics and annotation data.

Human Phenotype Ontology

The Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) "aims to provide a standardized vocabulary of phenotypic abnormalities encountered in human disease. Terms in the HPO describes a phenotypic abnormality"

Database for Preterm Birth

The Database for Preterm Birth (dbPTB) organizes the genes, genetic variations and pathways involved in preterm birth

GeneTests Web Site

GeneTests Web site is a "publicly funded medical genetics information resource developed for physicians, other healthcare providers, and researchers, available at no cost to all interested persons." It includes:

GeneReviews
Expert-authored peer-reviewed disease descriptions


Laboratory Directory
International directory of genetic testing laboratories


Clinic Directory
International directory of genetics and prenatal diagnosis clinics


Educational Materials
Illustrated glossary, information on genetic services, PowerPoint® presentations, annotated Internet resources

Databases

 Genetic Testing Registry is an NCBI, free online resource that provides a centralized location for comprehensive genetic test information that is voluntarily submitted by test providers.

 


 Atlas of Genetics and Cytogenetics in Oncology and Hematology "presents  reviews (cards) or longer texts (deep insights), a huge portal towards genetics and/or cancer databases and journals, teaching items in Genetics for students in Medicine and in Sciences, and a case report section"

 


 

omim database Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man ® . OMIM is a authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine "comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. It contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. 

 


 nucleotide database Nucleotide database "is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery."

 


Entrez Gene "maintains information about genes from genomes of interest to the RefSeq group"

 


  reference sequence database Reference Sequence (RefSeq) collection is a compendium of "a comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant, well-annotated set of sequences, including genomic DNA, transcripts, and proteins."

 


 map viewer Map Viewer "allows you to view and search an organism's complete genome, display chromosome maps, and zoom into progressively greater levels of detail, down to the sequence data for a region of interest"

 


The Single Nucleotide Polymorphism database (dbSNP) is a public-domain archive for a broad collection of simple genetic polymorphisms. It can be used for gene mapping, definition of population structure, and performance of functional studies.

 

Follow us

      

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.