Skip to main content

Genetics @ HSC: Mobile tools

VPN for iPhone

 Cisco AnyConnect provides reliable and easy-to-deploy encrypted network connectivity from any Apple iOS 4 device. Use this application when connecting off-campus. For instructions on how to connect to Univ of Florida, please go to this page

Talking Glossary of Genetics

Talking Glossary of Genetics By National Human Genome Research Institute "In addition to a written definition, users can listen to a scientist explain the term and provide context. The glossary also contains more than 150 colorful illustrations and more than thirty 3-D animations that illustrate genetic concepts at the cellular level."

 BioGene is ideal to learn about gene function -it retrieves information from gene function and references into function (GeneRIF) information. "BioGene was produced in affiliation with the Computational Biology Center at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center with primary information from Entrez Gene at the NCBI."

Follow us

      

Genetic Code

Genetic Code allows the visualizatio of standard genetic code and provides information on 20 amino acids and their abbreviations. It also allows you to see the name and structure of the corresponding amino acid and contains additional information about initiation (start) codons among other features.

SimGene

 SimGene compiles information from "Ensembl, NCBI, Gene Ontology, KEGG Pathways, PubMed, Genomic Variations and many other databases to retrieve up-to-date annotation information for over 30 species, based on gene symbol search. The application provides gene and transcript cross reference information for NCBI, Ensembl, RefSeq and UniProt. SimGene also contains an integrated genome browser with information on genes, transcripts, exons and SNPs."

Lab tools

 Promega application provides tools for use at the bench, such as calculators and annotatable protocols, with in-depth reference materials covering key topics in molecular and cell biology. It allows calculation of melting temperature, molarity, dilution, DNA and protein concentration, etc

 NEB Tools (New England Biolabs) allows you to select a restriction enzyme by category or recognition sequence, or search by name to find information on any NEB enzyme, determine buffer and reaction conditions for two restriction enzymes, among other things.

Literature

 PubMed Mobile provides a mobile view of the "more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites"

 PubMed® for Handhelds features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages.

 Nature application contains the latest science news and research from Nature Publishing Group

 The New England Journal of Medicine application contains recent research articles, reviews, commentary, and case materials. It also images, audio, and video from Images in Clinical Medicine.

 PNAS: "the official journal of the US National Academy of Sciences, is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences."

 PLoS Medicine application for the open-access journal publishing important original research and analysis relevant to human health

 Science Reader application by the American Association for the Advancement of Science provides full text access for AAAS members. Non-member access to summaries and abstracts from Science, Science Translational Medicine, and Science Signaling journals. 

Subject Guide

Joe Wu's picture
Joe Wu
Contact:
(352) 273-8443
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.