The Library Catalog is a great starting place to locate Books, E-books, Journals, Articles, Videos, & More. The collection includes subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and research guides. Results can be filtered to display what is available online.
Watch this video (10 min) for tips for using the library catalog, Primo, or see the video, Searching with Primo Search (4:20 min).
Sign in with your Gator ID to save your searches, pin favorites, view your loans and renew items.
You can also search for UF theses & dissertations in the Library Catalog by typing "Dissertations, Academic — UF —" into the Search bar. You can add a department name to further limit the results.
Looking for e-books? Try the following e-book services:
Just remember to use the off campus access link before getting started.
Mites of Greenhouses by
Mites are among the most important arthropods in greenhouses, both as pests causing economic injury to greenhouse crops, and as natural enemies used in the biological control of pest insects and other mites. Because of their minute size, mites are much less well known than insects.This book describes the biology, identification and control of such mites and the topics covered include an introduction to the Acari, illustrated keys to orders, families and selected species, the control of pest mites, and the role of beneficial mites in biological control. The book will be of interest to those working in entomology, crop protection and horticulture.
Natural Resources Management in Agriculture by
In response to increasing concerns about the degradation of natural resources and the sustainability of agriculture, many research programmes have been established in natural resource management (NRM). However, although methods for evaluating the impacts of crop improvement technologies are well developed, there is a dearth of methods for evaluating the impacts of NRM interventions. This is partly due to the complexity of interactions among natural resources, spatial and temporal dimensions of impact, and the valuation of direct and indirect environmental costs and benefits. This book discusses the unique features and methodological difficulties of NRM impact assessment. It examines the strengths and weaknesses of various impact assessment approaches, including econometric, bio-economic, and more direct methods. It also assesses and identifies data requirements for developing impact indicators and recommends suitable methodologies for assessing the impacts of NRM technologies on issues such as soil and water conservation and watershed and biodiversity management.
Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook by
This revision retains the same general format contained in the previous editions. The chemicals and pesticides regulations have been updated; major taxonomic changes have been made in the bacteria, fungi, nematodes and viruses; the changing picture in diseases caused by viruses and/or virus-like agents have been described. New host plants have been added, and many recently reported diseases as well as previously known diseases listed now on new hosts have been included. This book should be useful to gardeners, botanical gardens, landscape architects, florists, nurserymen, seed and fungicide dealers, pesticide applicators, arborists, cooperative extension agents and specialists, plant pathologists, diagnostic laboratories and consultants. This book should also be a useful reference book for plant pathology classrooms and in some cases used as a textbook.
The Whitefly, Bemisia Tabaci (Homoptera: Aleyrodidae) Interaction with Geminivirus-Infected Host Plants by
The book presents a chronology of events of B. tabaci and geminiviruses, and an overview within the Caribbean and Latin America. The pathosystems involving Tomato yellow leaf curl virus, Cotton leaf curl virus and the cassava mosaic viruses are discussed. Data is presented on amino acid concentrations influencing B. tabaci and thus serves the basis for holidic diets. The essential molecular techniques for B. tabaci identification and classification are included with factors to consider for appropriate applications; an essential working guide for graduate students and researchers in the molecular field. Excellent photos portray symptoms of geminivirus-infecting crops: tomato, cotton, cassava, legumes and cucurbits; an important guide for researchers and growers. The novel insecticides, their mode of action and specificity; emphasize the applications of these within IPM programs.
Weed Research by
This book presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the current and potential future state of weed science and research. Weeds have a huge effect on the world by reducing crop yield and quality, delaying or interfering with harvesting, interfering with animal feeding (including poisoning), reducing animal health and preventing water flow. They are common across the world and cost billions of dollars' worth of crop losses year on year, as well as billions of dollars in the annual expense of controlling them. An understanding of weeds is vital to their proper management and control, without which the reduction in crop yields that they would cause could lead to mass starvation across the globe. Topics covered include weed biology and ecology, control of weeds and particular issues faced in their control. Authored and edited by internationally renowned scientists in the field all of whom are actively involved in European Weed Research Society working groups, this succinct overview covers all the relevant aspects of the science of weeds. Weed Research: Expanding Horizons is the perfect resource for botanists, horticultural scientists, agronomists, weed scientists, plant protection specialists and agrochemical company personnel.
Plant Pathology by
The second edition of Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols covers diagnostic methods that are currently used in laboratories for a broad range of plant species and matrixes. These include serological and molecular methods that have one or more of the following characteristics: suitability for high-throughput testing, detection of a group of pathogens or of sometimes uncharacterized pathogens, detection and identification of specific pathogens, and high sensitivity. This volume discusses qualitative and quantitative tests, as well as recently developed diagnostic methods. It also provides background information on many pathogens, which are either endemic, non-endemic, or emerging and with different lifecycles that cause diseases of significant importance in a wide variety of hosts. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, background information on pathogens and the disease caused, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Informative and cutting-edge, Plant Pathology: Techniques and Protocols, Second Edition is the perfect book for plant pathologists and molecular biologists who will use this information to test out the latest research in their laboratories.
The following platforms have various mobile device features
|
