Skip to main content

Medical Honors Program: Databases & Journals

eJournals

These are just a few of the electronic journals in the library's collection that might be of interest to you in your studies.

Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology

Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Annual Review of Neuroscience

Cell

Journal of Health Economics

Journal of Translational Medicine

New England Journal of Medicine

Pharmacological Reviews

Value in Health

For a complete, searchable list of our eJournals, go to the eJournal Locator.

Getting Full-Text Articles

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:  UF VPN or the library proxy server (on the remote logon page). 

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

To see links to full-text in PubMed, access it through the HSCL website and use the Abstract view.  

 

Even if you don't see one of these buttons we may still have access to article.  Double check the journal title in the E-Journals List or in the UF Online Catalog.

Using Citation Alerts

Many databases offer alerting services that will send you notices when new articles fit your saved search criteria. This can help you keep track of the most up-to-date information from your area of interest without going to the database yourself.

In PubMed:

  1. Register for a free MyNCBI account.
  2. Save your searches and create alerts.

In ISI Web of Knowledge (BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, Web of Science, and Zoological Record):

  1. From within Web of Knowledge, select "sign in" in the upper right corner and then register for a free account.
  2. Learn about citation alerts (see bottom of linked page).

Selected Literature Databases

For a complete list of databases go to the HSC Library's Database Page

Remember to use the UF VPN or your GatorLink to connect to library resources from off-campus.

Molecular/Genetics Databases

Additional resources can be found at this library guide on Bioinformatics.

 Genetic Testing Registry is an NCBI, free online resource that provides a centralized location for comprehensive genetic test information that is voluntarily submitted by test providers.


 Atlas of Genetics and Cytogenetics in Oncology and Hematology "presents  reviews (cards) or longer texts (deep insights), a huge portal towards genetics and/or cancer databases and journals, teaching items in Genetics for students in Medicine and in Sciences, and a case report section"


omim database Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man ® . OMIM is a authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine "comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. It contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. 


gad Genetic Association Database is an archive of human genetic association studies of complex diseases and disorders. This includes summary data extracted from published papers in peer reviewed journals on candidate gene and Genome-wide Association Studies


 nucleotide database Nucleotide database "is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery."


Entrez Gene "maintains information about genes from genomes of interest to the RefSeq group"


  reference sequence database Reference Sequence (RefSeq) collection is a compendium of "a comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant, well-annotated set of sequences, including genomic DNA, transcripts, and proteins."


structure database Molecular Modeling DataBase (MMDB) a.k.a. "Entrez Structure, is a database of experimentally determined structures obtained from the RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB). MMDB is developed by the Structure Group of the NCBI Computational Biology Branch."


 map viewer Map Viewer "allows you to view and search an organism's complete genome, display chromosome maps, and zoom into progressively greater levels of detail, down to the sequence data for a region of interest"

Additional resources can be found at this library guide on Bioinformatics.

 


The Single Nucleotide Polymorphism database (dbSNP) is a public-domain archive for a broad collection of simple genetic polymorphisms. It can be used for gene mapping, definition of population structure, and performance of functional studies.

Your Librarian

Hannah Norton's picture
Hannah Norton
Contact:
HSC Library, Communicore Building
352-273-8412
Website
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.